We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of coa

coa
Potsdamer Platz 5, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
030 2300 5462
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,749 of 5,953 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mitte
netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

It's nothing more than an Asian fast food. Food was average, I would even say that the dim sum were quite tasteless. It's not a fancy place, nor is the food or the service. I would not return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    69
    21
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venezia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a pleasant place in potsdamer platz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to Coa because we tried to go to the adiacent "Va piano" but it was full and crowded even if it was 3pm. The restaurant is in minimalist style, modern, clean. At that hour it was easy to find places to seat. We were 3people. We ate the appetizer mix for 2(14€) and all the 3main course (rice, rice noodles and fried noodles), I took also two balls of ice-cream for dessert, one of green tea and one of spicy mango.. my boyfriend a warm green tea. We were satisfied, even my boyfriend who is not asian/viet/china food fan! We paid 60€, consider that 3bottles of water cost a lot in Germany! A minus was one waitress, who didn't smile once, or even try to understand our german or our english, she was simply rude; the other one was very kind and helpful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Hot food in a very cold city in March”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Cao, on Potsdamer Platz in Berlin is worth a visit. The food is wholesome and very tasty and you can sit for hours reading with nobody pushing you out the door. I was travelling on my own and the staff were very friendly and efficient. It was freezing cold outside and so I was ready for the hot food before braving the elements again! The food is very well priced- for 3 courses, a mineral and a coffee I paid about €20. That is great value. It is quite funny as the dishes' titles are in English and the ingredients are in German. I had no German and therefore was putting my trust in the titles! It was interesting and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The restaurant is not mentioned in the Lonely Planet guide to Berlin and I thought it should be.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good asian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Good food, good service, good location. couldnt find anything wrong with this place, but nothing fascinating either.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice lunch break when doing Berlin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A various menu with ieg many different dumplings, fried duck, traditional chinese food, etc. They had pots with livng herb plants on the tables for self service seasoning and decorating. Ordered drinks arrived soon and many dishes had been made in advance or prepared in a good way, beacuse the food arrived not very much later. Almost modest prices, at least compared with other restaurants in this part of Berlin. A little exercice after the lunch, a walk for a quarter of an hour to Brandenburger Tor, easy to find your way, because they are in opposite ends of the same street. The girls in our families get fond of this restaurant so we visited it for a second lunch during our week in Berlin. Very good public transport to Potzdamer Platz.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed coa also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to coa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage coa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.