We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a City Break and great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platz vor dem Neuen Tor 6, 10115 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a City Break and great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the Adina Hauptbahnhof for 3 nights in Dec 2012. The transport network in Berlin is excellent and this hotel is very well placed for U-bahn and S-bahn stations, trams, and also main bus routes. The hotel itself is modern and clean with friendly staff who all seemed to have sufficient English to communicate with non-German speakers. The rooms are well equipped, spacey apartments - very clean and modern. The breakfast buffet is excellent and should satisfy all tastes. The bar area is clean and the bar staff friendly and efficient.
A test for any hotel is whether you would go back, and we certainly would.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABHBSchmid, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Steve T,

Thank you very much for your very positive comments here on Tripadvisor. The whole Team appreciates your kind gesture and is highly motivated. We are delighted to hear that you will return on your next visit and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards
Sinaida Schmid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    699
    305
    29
    4
    0
See reviews for
267
447
39
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is not a typical hotel style hotel but rather an apartment style where you can find a bathroom with a washing machine and a dryer, well equiped kitchen and a bedroom separate to the kitchen/dining/lounge area. This especially helps if one of the travellers is more jet-lagged than the other. The apartment is quite spacious. The bedroom is lovely. the bed is really comfortable. The service was great, very helpful staff. The swimming pool and spa were a real treat during winter as it's quite nice to be able to take layers of clothes after sightseeing all day and dip in and relax.

The hotel location is not the best as it's situated right next to Charite hospital in a very quiet area. Hardly any caffes and restaurants. Need to walk to Friedrich Strasse for those. The hotel is located about 15 minute walk from Unter den linden and Reichstag so not that far away. Berlin is a big, big city so no matter where you stay something is going to be far away from your hotel. There's a bus stop right outside the hotel. The good is that Hauptbahnhof train station (the main station in Berlin) is only a 10 minute walk away. If you're land at Tegel it's only about 17eur in a taxi so don't bother with trains of shuttle buses.

The only pickle we had with the hotel, which is nothing major, is the housekeeping. It was very random. Some things would be replaced when you didn't want it replaced (towels for example, when you hang them up they shouldn't replace them according to their sign yet sometimes they did and sometimes they didn't replace them) and some things that you wanted replaced (milk in the fridge) they wouldn't replace. Apart from that everything was perfect about this hotel and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABHBSchmid, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Ch0gi,

Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor. All comments and recommendations are very valuable for us and other travellers. We are delighted to hear that you rated us 'absolutely fantastic' - Thank you for the nice gesture! I have already spoken to our Housekeeping department to improve their general consistency during their daily service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes
Sinaida Schmid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Out of 600 reviews, The Adina Hauptbahnhof has had three bad reviews, and looking at them, there are no real issues, even the average reviews seem better than average, that says it all for me.
Anyway, we were travelling as two couples to see in the new year in Berlin. We had a fantastic time, due in no small part to the choice of Hotel by our wives (this was a surprise Christmas present for the two husbands).
We really could not fault the Adina , apart from the piped music choice at breakfast ;) .
What makes this hotel special - more than the facilities, the cleanliness, the relaxed comfortable bar and dining room - are the people, nothing is too much trouble, everyone we came into contact with was helpful and friendly. Jutta and Matthias , on the desk through to Attila and Tariq in the bar and restaurant. Ms Schmidt is rightfully very proud of her hotel and staff, and runs a tight ship very well.
As has been said in the other reviews the Adina is well placed (like the other two sister hotels) and around a ten minute walk from the giant Hauptbahnhoff Station, 15 minutes or so to the Brandenburg Gates / Reichstag , 15 to 20 mins minutes to Oranienburger Straße, with night-life and restaurants.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: A seventh floor room with a balcony looking South to the Centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABHBSchmid, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Vlads Quiff,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your detailed comment here on Tripadvisor.
The Team and I are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us. I am taking your criticism on for our music choices ... and we'll work on it! Send my regards to your wifes and I hope I will be able to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes
Sinaida Schmid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay at the Adina Berlin having spent New Year 2011 at the Adina Copenhagen which we found to be really good.
We were not at all disappointed.The Adina Hauptbahnhof is in a very convenient location and its facilities are quite excellent.The staff are really friendly and most helpful.
The apartments are equipped with everything one might need.
The only negative is that wifi is chargeable and that we had problems maintaining a connection for longer than 5 minutes (this really needs sorting out, as it is apparently a consistent problem,especially with tablets and phones)
Overall a great hotel with great staff in a really good location.We would definitely go back

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABHBSchmid, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Mr ChrisBegur,

The Team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive comments. I have addresses your concerns with the IT department regarding the wifi tablet and phone usage and we are working on a solution.

We wish you a good start and a happy new year and hope to see you back soon in one of our hotels.

Best regards

Sinaida Schmid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were really surprised to discover this apartment hotel and all it had to offer. We chose it because we thought it would be across the street from the train station. It was a few blocks away and that was the only downside of our selection. We had to take a short taxi ride to the hotel rather than a short walk. We found the staff ready to assist us in making our time in Berlin as pleasant as possible. Our room was very comfortable, and we were surprised to have everything we needed to prepare and eat meals in the room when going to a restaurant seemed like too much. The staff directed us to a great source of inexpensive food and drinks. That said, we enjoyed every meal we ate in the restaurant. Breakfasts were excellent, far better than in most US hotels. Supper meals were top flight as well. The spa was a great place to enjoy a good sauna or prepare for my annual BSA swim test.
The hotel was very clean and modern. It seemed prepared to help its visitors with any questions or problems. Need a taxi tomorrow at 9:15? They had it there. Need an umbrella on a rainy day? They had one for you. Young children were very welcome in the Adina. We did not have a child with us but we observed on several occasions that children were pampered by the staff.
The hotel is located in close proximity to several museums and is close to public transportation stops.
My only regret about the Adina is that there are none in the United States. Our stay in the Adina was among the highlights of our vivit to Berlin.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room which had a microwave for cooking. I understand that some rooms have stoves as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABHBSchmid, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear DouglasA,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of your stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof here on TripAdvisor. Your posting is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the Team. We are always pleased when our service is rated so well - thank you.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed at Adina Berlin hbf for just two evenings. Overall impression was good, both rooms and service.

Service: excellent. Staff processed our early check-in at 7:45 am with no questions asked. Most hotels won't do this for you even if they have rooms available. All through the stay, staff were friendly and greeted us when we went through the lobby.

Rooms: clean and spacious. Modern design and had views of the hotel garden. We arrived over the weekend and were slightly taken aback when we woke on Monday to a view of an office full of workers on the facing block. Nonetheless, our stay was a pleasant one.

Others: Wifi is chargeable in room. A password can be requested for complimentary use in the lobby. Breakfast was not inclusive and costs abt 19 Euros.

Transport: 5 mins by cab from Berlin hbf. Hotel is serviced by two buses 142 and 147. Hotel staff can advise which to take to the shopping district and where to drop off. Buses are a flat rate €2.50 per trip if you dont have concession. Alternatively, a cab to Friedrichstraße or Alexander Platz was about €10-12. We had no problems getting around Berlin during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABHBSchmid, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Trekmann,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your stay on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that the team looked after you during your time in Berlin and that you had a pleasant stay.

We would be very happy to welcome you back on your next trip to Berlin.

Best wishes

Sinaida Schmid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Adina Hauptbahnhof for 6 nights in December and were very happy with our choice.
The Adina is located an easy 10min walk to Hauptbahnhof station (main train station) which is the hub of public transport and hop on hop off tours in Berlin.
There are buses located everywhere around the hotel and everything is within easy walking distance.
We had originally booked a studio room but upgraded for €30 per night to the 1 bedroom apartment for the convenience of a working kitchen and washing machine / dryer.
There is a Lidl supermarket 5min walk from the Adina (past the hospital) which is really cheap for all sorts of food (compared to Australia)
If you like to shop but don't like to carry everything home with you in your suitcase there is a post office about 10 minutes walk in the opposite direction of Hauptbahnhof, so you can shop to your hearts content and send everything home cheaply!
Downstairs in the alto bar they have happy hour between 5pm - 7pm on most cocktails, beers, wine etc.
They don't advertise this always in the bar so be sure to ask about happy hour before ordering drinks.
The bar is a great place to sit and relax after a day of sightseeing and we always got a table whenever we went.
We dined a few times in the restaurant, very nice food and lovely ambience. The curry wurst on the menu quickly became a favourite.
Our room overlooked the inner courtyard and was quiet, with good heating and blackout curtains.
The rooms are large and bright, with very big bathrooms and the beds are very comfy.
Everything in the rooms are clean and modern, which was great.
There was a television in the lounge room and the bedroom - you cannot plug your laptop into these televisions.
The only real downside is that you still have to pay for Internet in your room, however as far as German hotel charges go, the Adina is quite reasonable charging for 24hrs usage, not time frame.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom apartment is worth the extra for the full kitchen and the washing machine / dryer. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABHBSchmid, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear blimeytravelbug,

Thank you for feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. The team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have had a fantastic time in Berlin. We thank you dearly for your recommendations and hope to see you back in 2013.

Happy New Year to you and your family!

Best regards

Sinaida Schmid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Address: Platz vor dem Neuen Tor 6, 10115 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.