We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian restaurant in Berlin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Piccolo Mondo

Ristorante Piccolo Mondo
Reichsstr. 9, 14052 Berlin, Germany (Westend)
(030) 304 47 34
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #329 of 5,953 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $25 - $300
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Westend
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Italian restaurant in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The antis her and the decor make you fell in Italy as well as the food.
Try their spaghetti with truffles prepare in a large Parmesan bold. Every time I come to Berlin I make sure to go their to have it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    7
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and late night welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

After a 9 hours trip, arriving after 10:30 pm our hotel (Villa Kastania) recommended Piccolo Mondo and we booked a table. The welcome was very friendly, the interior comfortable, the restaurant was still packed and, most important, they offered us the full menu. We had some tagliatelle in a parmigiano bed, an experience by itself. Good wine, fun company with the waiters. I do not know what is above or below average, but I definitely know whether the price is fair and it was.
Will come back definitely.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Reasonable food and nice service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

When visiting a country that is not far away from the home of the best cuisine in the world (yes, I mean Italy. French and spanish cooking may magnificent on occasion, but the everyday food you get in the average italian restaurant remains the best average in the western world), when visiting such a country, and the country's capital, you have some expectations on what will be offered.
The location of the restaurant is in a fashionable part of Berlin, while off-centre, it is still considered a place where people with a lot of money spend them. And their time.
The food was average, which, frankly, was a disappointment. I had expected more. I had the tri-pasta which was fine, but nothing out of the ordinary. The small entrées and the complimentary olives where very, very basic. The wine selection was good, and we had an excellent bottle of red wine. However, we kicked off dinner with asking for a glass of champagne, and I am guessing here, but we did not get champagne. I payed for champagne, but we got two glasses of excellent Italian sparkling white wine, that, technically, is not allowed to be labeled champagne. I have to be perfectly honest here and state that I may be mistaken - I haven't tasted every champagne, and every bottle, but I have drunk a lot of champagne in my time and when you go to a fancy italian restaurant, and order champagne (which, by the way, was one of the most expensive drinks on the wine-list) you expect something that you'd recognize.
The waiters were nice, the outdoor veranda was a bit to smoke-infested for my taste, and I will not be going back. There are too many italian restaurants out there for me to give this place a second chance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Italian Cuisine, very nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Located very near the "Theodor Heuss Platz" (Westend/Charlottenburg neighborhood) the restaurant is very good to reach by car and by suburban railway. They have all the classical Italian cuisine in a fine quality. The staff is overwhelmingly friendly. The prices are a bit above the average, but appropriate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Classic Hospitality, Excellent Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant business is also called hospitality industry. The hospitality at Ristorante Piccolo Mondo is an example of hospitality as it should be in every restaurant. The reception, the smiles and friendliness of all members of personnel are genuine, the focus is on the guest. As they freely bring you additional appetizers which go with your choice of wine or food, you really feel like a guest. I have had the pleasure of frequent visits, and the attitude, as well as the quality of the cuisine have been consistently at the highest level.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Piccolo Mondo also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Piccolo Mondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.