We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean pleasant hotel, nice helpfull staff. Bit of a treck to the middle of the city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand City Hotel Berlin East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand City Hotel Berlin East to your Saves list
Grand City Hotel Berlin East
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Landsberger Allee 203, 13055 Berlin, Germany (Lichtenberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #391 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
508 reviews 508 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
596 helpful votes 596 helpful votes
“Clean pleasant hotel, nice helpfull staff. Bit of a treck to the middle of the city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2012.

We made the mistake of getting off the SBahn at Landsburger Allee and found its a hefty 30-35 min treck with the luggge. A far better option when coming from the airport is to get off at Osteruz and getting on a tram which stops more or less outside the hotel. At the tram stop near the S Bahn get on a tram which is going in roughly the same direction as the train you got off and alight 5 (?) stops later - its announced as Landsburger Alle - cant go wrong.

The Hotel is double badged with a Holiday Inn - I dont know if they use the same rooms, but the reception is the same for Holiday Inn and Grand City.

Rooms are large and comfy - we were on one of the upper floors and had a great view. There is no safe or coffee / tea making or fridge but the tv is good, the bed comfy and everything worked. Bathroom had a bath and the hot water worked well.

We paid for a bussiness room which is in effect just getting a normal room with a voucher for free wifi (Which worked really well). The price for the room was far cheaper than one would pay in the middle of the city and if one can live with the 40 / 50 min travel time to get there by Tram / S Bahn then its well worth it to save the extra.

Chck in / out was friendly and efficient. We didn't include breakfasts so cannot comment on it.

All in all the hotel did very well for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    173
    143
    45
    34
See reviews for
48
222
22
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed 3 nights in a room on the 12th floor and payed about 160 euros. We always bring our bikes to Berlin and this hotel is perfectly located for visiting our favorite neighborhoods Prenzlauerberg, Friedrichshain, Kreuzberg and Neukoln. It's only a 4 km bike ride to Frankfurter Tor. The hotel has a safe parking lot were we could leave our car behind with a very good feeling. Price/quality was very good, staff was very gentle and the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast wasn't included but there's a cafe and a Netto supermarket nearby. When we arrived the carpet was wet in one place so they definitely cleaned something, but it was all good. Carpet was a bit stained but that is unavoidable with a light color carpet. I really liked the design of the room and the view was great. Bathroom was very clean and housekeeping came every day.
I finally found my hotel in Berlin, it is much cheaper and more comfortable than the hotels downtown I stayed in before. I hope free wifi will be available soon!

Room Tip: ask for a high floor to enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The hotel is a 15-minute tram ride from Alexanderplatz. A better way from the airport is take the TXL bus for two stops to the S Bahn (surface train), then take the S bahn to Landsburger Allee station and then the M5 tram (Don't try to walk there. We did and boy was there a long 35-min walk!) Sounds complicated but it's not. Besides, it cost 3.7 Euros only.

Getting around is easier in fact by tram cars M5, M6 etc. then by subway (U bahn), and it runs often.

Hotel is clean, room spacious but mainly functional and staff very helpful. They will print a specific Google map for wherever you want to go. But best to bring your own adapter for socket charger, as they had 4 for the entire hotel of > 400 rooms. Internet costs but there are two free computers available. Breakfast between 7.5 to 9.5 euros is well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

we booked a room only stay of 3 nights through an online bookings website - 120 euros. The room was fantastic (as the photograph - 10th floor), clean and modern. Yes, the tv was outdated, but who cares. We came by car, and the parking was easy and free. The tram stops were very close by, and took us into the city centre (east side) very quickly. The reception staff were very professional and helpful; unusual I thought for such a large hotel. Even on a short stay, towels were replaced without question. I would certainly stay here again on our next visit to Berlin - not something I would usually say!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

If you are looking for a reasonable place to stay in Berlin, then this hotel is a good choice. The price is right and it's close to several public transportation lines. The rooms were large and clean, but the TV small and old fashioned (if that's a priority for you). Breakfast was not included in our online booking, but we were able to purchase the buffet for 7.50 Euro (about $9.00) per person at the reception desk - which was well worth it. Free parking is available behind the hotel, so driving directly to the hotel is not a problem. Just be advised that this facility is connected to the Holiday Inn and they even share the reception desk. Depending from which direction you come, you may not see signs for the Grand City hotel. No problem, just look for the Holiday Inn and you will end up in the right place. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand City Hotel Berlin East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand City Hotel Berlin East

Address: Landsberger Allee 203, 13055 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Lichtenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand City Hotel Berlin East 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cultural and sporting capital with a unique lifestyle at this 3-star Berlin hotel. Whether as a tourist or business traveller, the city has something to offer everyone. The Grand City Hotel Berlin East is centrally located close to Alexanderplatz. For leisure travellers, there are sports courses and sporting and event venues situated nearby, such as the Sportforum, the Velodrome events venue and the Max-Schmeling-Halle. Meals and drinks are served up at the "Landsberger 203" restaurant and the “New Orleans Bar” with Mediterranean and Berlin-style cuisine. A well-equipped gym is available to hotel guests at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand City Hotel Berlin East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand City Hotel Berlin East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.