We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstandingly Different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Camillo

Don Camillo
Schlossstrasse 7/8 (Charlottenburg), 14059 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
0049303223572
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 6,040 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Glenfinnan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Outstandingly Different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had read about this restaurant on TA and were looking forward to the experience of dining without a menu, we were not disappointed.

This is possibly one of the best restaurant experiences I have ever had.

The service is relaxed but precise and attentive, and the way the Maitre d presents the raw ingredients and explains what they can make for you that evening is something you just have to experience to appreciate. There is a good selection of meat, fish and vegetarian available, all displayed personally to you on a trolley so that you can make your choice.

The quality of the dishes prepared is of the highest standards and there are some quite different things available, highlight for me was the sweetbreads for main course which just melted in the mouth.

We just had the house wine from the barrel and this was excellent although there is an extensive Italian wine list with some very interesting bottles available.

Easy to get to from the M45 bus, if you are looking for something different then this restaurant is to be highly recommended. Total cost was about 70 Euros each including drinks, and we all thought that for the standard of cuisine this was actually good value for money.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    29
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Italian and out-of-this-world service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This small place near the Villa Oppenheim is a gem. It's hard to say which is better, the food or the service as both are top-notch. The food is homemade and final preparations are done tableside. The servers are the most friendly and outgoing that I've ever seen in Europe. They provide service, as well as finishing touches to the meals and prepare the desserts at your table. It is like they are waiters, chefs and entertainers all at the same time. Save as much room as possible for dessert. Get the potatoes and ice cream. Trust me.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diemen, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Real Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had dinner here in October. Most of the food they serve is home made, which is fantastic. The food is presented on plates, so ordering becomes much easier. Some dishes are even prepared at the table. Wine was a little bit disapointing. Over all a very nice restaurant with nice food, where we should go again if we visit Berlin once more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“All I can say is WOW!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

In Berlin for a conference. Dinner with a major supplier, originally a small dinner that morphed into 14 people. The staff at Don Camillo were extremely accommodating and sent us up on the terrace with our own "dining tent" complete with propane space heaters, attached to the building at a set of french doors. It just got better from there. Extremely attentive service, flawless food. A set amuse gueule just to kick the evening off, followed by some exquisite appetizers, including fabulous vitello tonnato, pasta etc. The options for the main course were all presented by the waiters - no menu to look at - rather the food options were displayed in their pre-cooked state. A novel and very entertaining concept. Every meal that was ordered was phenomenal - from the lamb, to the dorade, to the beef. Just exceptional. Well worth the time and money for a special evening out. When I I am back in Berlin with my lady this will be a sure stop for a romantic evening out. One of the best restaurants I have ever been to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Had a really nice evening here. Went after a busy day at the conference centre with a couple of work colleagues, and it was a memorable night. The service was so friendly and attentive. We enjoyed some garlic and wine mushrooms and eggplant lasagna to start, then I had The black gnocchi with scampi and prosecco cream sauce and all were so delicious. My colleagues had a tomato and scampi linguini and a gnocchi pasta stuffed with cheese spinach and pear. Defiantly a pace I would recommend for an authentic meal and experience! Loved it!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Camillo also viewed

 

Been to Don Camillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Camillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.