We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Camillo

Don Camillo
Schlossstrasse 7/8 (Charlottenburg), 14059 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
0049303223572
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 6,267 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Cardiff, South Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Luxury at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Following other fellow trip advisor comments we dined here as a party of 10 and were not disappointed.
It was unusual to be shown your food and have the waiter explain how there were going to cook it as no menu's are given out and no prices offered, but if you like good food then be prepared to pay about 75 Euro's per person for 4 courses with house wine and water.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    29
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not the best Italian restaurant we ever had but worth a try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The restaurant has no menu instead the waiter will bring out a cart where you can choose different ingredients to create your own appetiser and main. We had scallop and 3 different types of mushroom as appetisers. They were truly amazing and delicious so we were glad to have dinner here since it is the 2nd best Italian restaurant in Berlin. Unfortunately, we were too quick to be content as the mains and the desserts failed to impress us. The lamb stew was good but the fat was way too much for my taste and my boyfriend had a whole fish (our waiter was very kind to fillet the whole fish) which was very fresh but the dish itself was nothing extraordinary and you have to order the side dish(es). The poached pears with white sauce meant to be a simple dessert but the waiter made the sauce and the flambé in front of us so it’s kinda add sophistication to the dessert.

All in all, it is expensive to eat here (we spent about €200 for a bottle of water, 2 glasses of aperitif, 2 glasses of wine, 2 appetisers, 2 mains, 2 desserts and 2 shots) but worth a try (high quality of ingredients + excellent service); just don’t set your expectation too high.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service and fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The food was really good and was presented to us on a trolley so that we colud see the food before we ordered. The service the italian family gave us was excellent. We would really like to go again. Quiet and calming place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal! Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went here based on the good reviews, and I can now say the reviews were right. Great service, great food, really nice atmosphere. It's a small quaint restaurant with a high-quality feel. A really classy establishment. Be prepared: it wasn't cheap - we were 2 people and the bill was 140 Euros for wine, appetizers, pasta, main course + desert. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
261 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“High quality food and nice environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food and service at Don Camillo are excellent, my only complaint is that service is a bit slow.

It's a great place if you have 2 1/2 - 3 hours for dinner, but don't plan on anything less than 2 hours.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Camillo also viewed

 

Been to Don Camillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Camillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.