We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Italian restaurant we ever had but worth a try” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Don Camillo

Don Camillo
Schlossstrasse 7/8 (Charlottenburg), 14059 Berlin, Germany
0049303223572
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 5,978 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not the best Italian restaurant we ever had but worth a try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The restaurant has no menu instead the waiter will bring out a cart where you can choose different ingredients to create your own appetiser and main. We had scallop and 3 different types of mushroom as appetisers. They were truly amazing and delicious so we were glad to have dinner here since it is the 2nd best Italian restaurant in Berlin. Unfortunately, we were too quick to be content as the mains and the desserts failed to impress us. The lamb stew was good but the fat was way too much for my taste and my boyfriend had a whole fish (our waiter was very kind to fillet the whole fish) which was very fresh but the dish itself was nothing extraordinary and you have to order the side dish(es). The poached pears with white sauce meant to be a simple dessert but the waiter made the sauce and the flambé in front of us so it’s kinda add sophistication to the dessert.

All in all, it is expensive to eat here (we spent about €200 for a bottle of water, 2 glasses of aperitif, 2 glasses of wine, 2 appetisers, 2 mains, 2 desserts and 2 shots) but worth a try (high quality of ingredients + excellent service); just don’t set your expectation too high.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    27
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service and fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The food was really good and was presented to us on a trolley so that we colud see the food before we ordered. The service the italian family gave us was excellent. We would really like to go again. Quiet and calming place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal! Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went here based on the good reviews, and I can now say the reviews were right. Great service, great food, really nice atmosphere. It's a small quaint restaurant with a high-quality feel. A really classy establishment. Be prepared: it wasn't cheap - we were 2 people and the bill was 140 Euros for wine, appetizers, pasta, main course + desert. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“High quality food and nice environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food and service at Don Camillo are excellent, my only complaint is that service is a bit slow.

It's a great place if you have 2 1/2 - 3 hours for dinner, but don't plan on anything less than 2 hours.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solbergelva
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dreams in every mouthful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were at this restaurant in Des 2012.This was the best restaurant we ate in on our stay in Berlin. 6 gourmet loving persons entered Don Camillo hungry.

It was stange not to have a meneu til pik out our disires-but the head waiter guidet us through all the courses.
He showed us the basic ingreadienses and we picked out what we wished . All 4 courses -everybody had were top nodch.
The waiters recommeded wine to the different courses and
I dream of coming back soon.

thanks for a great evening..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Camillo also viewed

 

Been to Don Camillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Camillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.