We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat yourself to a great meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Camillo

Don Camillo
Schlossstrasse 7/8 (Charlottenburg), 14059 Berlin, Germany
0049303223572
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 5,664 restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Treat yourself to a great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just a stone's throw from the Schloss Charlottenburg, this very classy Italian restaurant has been a Berlin institution for a very long time. It is pricey, but worth every Euro. They don't present you with the usual menu, rather, you are given a array of food to choose from. Its not a bad idea to let yourself be surprised...They will whip up a great dish for you. A tip...try the potato for dessert... wow.. and that's all I'm saying!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    137
    24
    17
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
the Netherlands
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
339 helpful votes 339 helpful votes
“Watch the price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good italian place. Friendly and attentive service. Nice atmosphere. BUT. They do not have a menu on paper; they show examples of the dishes on a plates and you can place your orders based on this. Can be nice, but they do not mention the price per dish; you can be in for a unpleasant surprise here. So just ask.
White housewine tasts like vinager. Better ask for the winelist; lots of possibilities for every budget.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food Prepared With Great Care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our first to Don Camillo, we wee taken by German friends. From the moment we arrived on a cold rainy night we felt special. The staff were friendly and very efficient throughout the evening. The drill is for the plates to be shown to you - no menu's appeared. My porcini starter was outstanding as was the John Dory in butter and sage sauce that followed. My desert of fresh strawberries in a mustard and balsamic sauce was marvellously refreshing. All of us had great dishes prepared with enormous care using the freshest ingredients. The bill was not a shock - having not seen any prices. A great restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely evening, wonderful meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

6 of us arrived for our 8:30 pm reservation, but a day early. In spite of this the owner and staff were gracious and accommodating. The restaurant is lovely-white tablecloths, light, calm, nice art, old-school elegant.
We ordered the house wine. The white was cool, dry and direct from the cask; the red a well-rounded Montepulciano that perfectly complemented the food.
No menus here. The owner brings over the ingredients for each dish, tells us briefly how it will be prepared and we choose. The scallop appetizers were heavenly-fresh, sweet with a slight heat. Husband had sauteed fresh mushrooms, seaweed and garlic-amazing!
There was no choice of the pasta-we were served a pasta trio that included one with a fabulous truffle oil. The meat course included fish, with the John Dory the winner. (Mind you, we were in Berlin attending a fisheries meeting, so the bar was high for fish!). I had the house beef specialty- tenderloin wrapped in prosciutto. Heavenly.
Dessert was a wide selection of local sweets. The strawberries with mustard and balsamic vinegar is something I will try at home. The Berlin Wall will be a fond memory!
Service was attentive, professional, personal.
Overall, a lovely evening and meal!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bxl
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“One of my prefered in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Authentic Italian Cuisine located in the calm neighbourhood of Charlottenburg, with attentive service and top quality food. Traditional classics, delicious home-made pasta, extensive wine list. What’s not to like?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Camillo also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany

Been to Don Camillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Camillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.