We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Camillo

Don Camillo
Schlossstrasse 7/8 (Charlottenburg), 14059 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
0049303223572
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 6,290 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Riga
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Amazing to be greeted and served by the owner - he tells you everything about the food and if it all sounds too good to choose from, you can get a little bit of everything. It's a really personal approach and you feel very welcome here. The deserts were amazing - and the Berlin Wall was the best of them all!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    29
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The restaurant is in a beautiful area of Berlin. And you don't just go to dinner there, it's a true experience! No menu, they present the different dishes you can choose from on a trolley, the show you what it is and tell you about the ingredients and how it is prepared. You can also choose to take a bit of everything (that's good because eveything tastes sooo good!).
The food is excellent, the service is great, the people working there are pleasant and funny. And it wasn't that expensive at all! One of the best Italian restaurants I have ever been to! Try it!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Rogaland, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Food and service fantastic! It is a 15-20 minutes drive by taxi from the tourist area, but really worth it. Italian at its best!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“excellent food and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Booked this restaurant for a business dinner with guests from UK China and USA
The owner makes this a unique experience we did not consult a menu or wine list once for each course he visited our table and with great style and personality introduced all offers for each course with recommeendations. The same occurred wwithin the wine and he has such style and personality I simply followed his recommendations as did all my guests and none of us were disappointed the food wine and atmosphere were superb.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“You have to be kidding me !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife & I visited Don Camillo based upon TripAdvisor's "#1 rated restaurant in Berlin". Definitely our most expensive meal in Berlin and definitely our worst dining experience of the week we visited the city. We know & expect good food and are happy to pay for a quality experience...this, unfortunatley provided neither. They present the food available for preparation on serving carts they wheel around the restaurant. We had reservations for a table and were seated promptly......right where they park the serving carts when there's no one to present to. It was like being seated in a parking lot of service carts !! The food they presented wasn't close to the quality of the food which arrived on our plates.....not to mention a couple of items were completely different than what we ordered. We are always cautious when the food is mainly prepared tableside....This means either the servers are acting as the cooks or the cooks are acting as the servers.....A quality, fine dining experience requires cooks to be cooks and servers to be servers and take care of their tables. I'm so glad that my wife has a great sense of humor (Guys, you know what I mean !!) because if the experience hadn't been soooo entertaining by how poor it was.......I would have been in for quite "the night" ! When we declined dessert, the waiters literally turned their backs on us (as if they were insulted); ignoring us for at least 10 minutes !!!! I don't know how this restaurant obtained its rating.......but unless you want to visit a "Tourist Trap", have a dull palate, or need to use a big expense account...stay away !!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Camillo also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Don Camillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Camillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.