We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, food below average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Feinkost Kaefer

Feinkost Kaefer
Platz der Republik, Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49.0.30.22629933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #387 of 5,953 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mitte
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice view, food below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We visited Käfer's restaurant on top of the German Parliament for breakfast because it had been recommended to us by a friend, but also because we wanted to skip the queue to visit Norman Foster's dome. The breakfast was below average and very pricey, and the service was not too good either. The view was great, though, and if you are in good company the restaurant is OK. It felt a lot like dining in a regular business hotel anywhere in the world. All in all it was a good experience because we got to see the dome, and also, there were sounds of bird tweeting in the bathrooms, which was nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    107
    32
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Almost empty and stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We expected to be in a crowded restaurant, but it was almost empty, we almost had a window seat, but the view from the second row of tables, is just as stunning. Staff was helpful and gave every visitor (which were not many) the best place available. terrific good food, a little expensive, but worth it considering taste, location and presentation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Almost princely food for a king's ransom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Incredible location for a once-in-a-lifetime dining experience. Fantastic view and where else can one dine in a Parliament building?
Next. I am good for paying a fortune if everything is top shelf. If it isn't, not so much. The complementary starters were quite nice, pate-esque, some celery root with a seafoam treatment. Tasty. The venison was stupendous, perhaps one of the tender best ever, however, the accompanying red cabbage was too sweet, prefer it more authentic, on the tangy side. The sea bass was quite fabulous. While I am often leery of ordering fish for fear of how it might be (overly)prepared, this fish was exceptional, every morsel was delectable with several accoutrement sauces and flavors. The duck wasn't the best of the trip, I found it a bit dry.
The soups were interesting...the duck was a very earthy broth, whereas the turnip soup would have been better off without the coconut milk. I found that to be incongruous and pretentious. Asian flavors need not apply here.
The desserts were surprising, but not necessarily in a positive way...the carrot cake bore no resemblance to any I have known before, save the carrot shavings atop. The cake itself was bland and lifeless. And small, but in this case, less is more. Yes, I know, a victim of preconceived notions, bring it on. Another dessert with beetroot sorbet was curious. I am all for sweet and savory, but this sorbet had none of sweet going for it, it was actually quite salty. Points for originality, but I would have dusted that salt lick with some sugar just for the contrast, if not for the palatability.
The service was a bit spotty for the built in 19%. Pleasant, but spotty. I am happy to tip more for great service, but this was not it. Could you take these plates, please? Mineral water at 12 EC per. And no gold leaf? Usurious.
Adding insult to injury, the credit card we paid with, which was used not at all for anything else, was compromised just thereafter. Coincidence? You decide.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We visited the restaurant during our tour of the Reichstag. We didn't have a reservation and just asked the manager if a table was available. She was incredibly accomodating and asked us to come back in 10-15 mins and she would try and make a table available. We visited the atrium and came back to a table ready for our meal.

The service at the restaurant was amazing, the menu is quite limited and there were no vegetarian main courses available. I asked the manager if they had anything vegetarian and she said she could have something prepared specially. I explained that I could have fish but didn't like seabass (which was the fish option) and she has some prawn pasta with vegetables made up for me.

The food was excellent and the service was very attentive making sure the food was exactly what we wanted and that it adhered to our dietary requirements. We went to the TV tower for dinner on another night but the experience at Kafer was a lot better and memorable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, what a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had pre-booked on a tour of the dome and decided to have a bit of breakfast whilst we were there. We did not book to go into the restaurant, however we were there early. We ordered two gorgeous breakfast platters and were also given complimentary smoothies from the chef. It isn't cheap, but it is definitely worth every penny. The view was amazing, we sat at the back of the restaurant which had windows all around.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feinkost Kaefer also viewed

 

Been to Feinkost Kaefer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feinkost Kaefer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.