We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Feinkost Kaefer

Feinkost Kaefer
Platz der Republik, Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49.0.30.22629933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #388 of 5,952 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mitte
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The obviously selling point to this restaurant is its location on top of the Reichstag. The 360 degree views of Berlin are amazing. You can walk all around the roof. The food is also quite good. I am a vegetarian, and they made me a lovely plate of grilled tofu and vegetables. You do have to go through security, and I believe you have to make reservations at least a few days, if not more, in advance.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    107
    32
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent view, quick way to get into the Reichstag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Breakfast at this restaurant was recommended by a friend and we enjoyed it very much. You must call ahead for reservation and know that you will be asked to provide passport numbers and names of guests. The advantage is that you do get to bypass the long lines and have a meal overlooking Berlin.While we were not as enthused about the food as other reviewers, the experience was well worth it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“A treat, but a good one.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I took my parents here for breakfast as a treat when they came to visit me in Berlin. If you want to visit the Bundestag it's a great way to do it avoiding the queues, although you *MUST* book in advance as it gets booked up, also you need to provide name and DOB in advance and bring photo ID with you. You get whizzed up in a lift, and if you turn up before it opens at 9am then you get some time with the terrace around the glass dome to yourself which is pretty cool. The breakfasts aren't cheap (full menu and prices on the kafer website) but at my mum's advice (she'd been before) we ordered two of the 27 euro breakfasts between 3 of us and there was still too much food! I'm taking my boyfriend next week and we'll order one of those and then a small one (and maybe a bottle of sekt!) instead which will be plenty for 2 people. Great views of the city and the tiergarten from the terrace.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have read somewhere that the easiest way to get in to the Reichstag is to book a table in the restaurant and skip the queue at the entrance. I went there with my wife for breakfast. I have to confess that it was the best breakfast in my life so far. The food was top quality, the service excellent. We were seated at a table in the balcony so we had an excellent view as well. I am recommending this restaurant to everyone who is visiting Berlin!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Fantastic afternoon tea at Berlin’s top location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you visit the Reichstag : combine it with a visit to Feinkost Kaefer restaurant next to the Dome on top of the Reichstag. You have to make reservations in advance on Kaefers website and , for security reasons, reconfirm your booking 3 weeks before visit (including all names and birthdays of your guests), take also ID-card or passport to the entrance of the Reichstag.
We had a good afternoon tea (from 2h30PM till 4h30PM) but you can also have breakfast, lunch or dinner … remember : always make reservations !
Good quality food, clean and modern restaurant, correct service, inside + outside restaurant, not cheap but also not overpriced.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feinkost Kaefer also viewed

 

Been to Feinkost Kaefer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feinkost Kaefer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.