We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ivbergs Hotel Charlottenburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ivbergs Hotel Charlottenburg to your Saves list
Ivbergs Hotel Charlottenburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neue Kantstrasse 2, 14057 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #289 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“ideal little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here 15th to 18th dec 2013 was very impressed . The bed was huge and comfortable. The pillows were the only fault in the room. The room and the hotel were meticulous and the buffet breakfast was more than ample with a good variety hot and cold. Ideally situated for the Charlottenburg castle turn left out of the hotel and left agin then straight on for 10 mins walk. (which at this time has a xmas market which was super) and WOW do the Germans know how to do xmas it was outstanding. If you come out of the hotel turn left and walk all the way straight on you reach the main town which is about 25 mins walk really nice walk.Here again you have another market which is really really large and fantastic and so beautifully decorated. On the way there or back pop into KREDENZ cafe Konditorei which is 5 min from the hotel looks quaint and small but they do fantastic coffe tea and special cakes this was not just coffee and cake this was a delight. The bus stop is outside the hotel ans the s bahns are 10 mins away for Berlin city centre. If you are going to do a tour the meeting point is zoo station which you can walk in 20 mins. No bother to us and we are a retired couple . We thoroughly enjoyed the walk.Found the staff nice and helpful

Room Tip: Try for higher up we were on the first floor and there is slight traffic noise to the front of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    65
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
57
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterdown, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel was very clean and convenient as the City Tour bus stopped right outside the hotel. We had a room with a king size bed and were supposed to be getting a cot for my daughter to sleep on but there was no space in the room for it so we all slept in the King sized bed.
Also the bathroom was very small. We appreciated the free WiFi. The price of the hotel was good as it was a weekend and prices are higher during the week. The buffet breakfast was not included and I think was about $15 Euros and we had to pay $8 Euros a day for parking. Staff were efficient but not overly friendly. Nice croatian restaurant across the street.

Room Tip: If you need an extra bed, make sure to book it with the reservation so you get a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I wouldn't stay in this hotel again. I have been in Ivbergs Hotel with my girl for the occasion of 31th december.
Service was really poor, with the guy at the reception telling me that he could cut my german bank card, very very annoying. Was very hard to get any decent information from the reception people.
Prices?? Forget it! We had to pay 200 euros for just 1 night, extremely overpriced, just because was december 31th!
Room was big and clean, with a big balcony and a nice view, but then, you are far from everything so there is not much to see.
Also, the lift was so slow, that you could go by stair to 4th floor 3 times faster.

Maybe we had bad luck, since other reviews are given 5 stars to this, but this was my experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if is your first time in Berlin. Go to Mitte!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked the hotel on my freind advice. It turn out to be very cost effective, centrally located. The room was nice for two pepole with all the amenity attached to it. We were travelling with laptop, and required internet services and the hotel was having free Wi-fi service. public parking was also there.

Room Tip: Road side room give decent view in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Super clean with very friendly staff. Mattrace very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing with lots of choice. Parking at the rear of the hotelbit small, butoverll experience is amazing. Totally recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Værløse
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We are a young couple who spent 5 nights in Ivbergs Hotel Charlottenburg. The hotel is nice and clean, and the staff is very helpful and speaks excellent English (which is rare in Germany!). There is also free WiFi. The area is quiet, which is nice when you are trying to sleep, and there are plenty of cafés and restaurants around the hotel for eating breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel is close to both S-bahn and U-bahn stations, so the city center is easily accessible. The only cons are that there is no refrigerator/mini bar (would have been useful for keeping food), and that the breakfast is a bit pricey (for a young couple anyway), so we ate breakfast at a nearby café instead.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is small, but it is very clean. The staff on reception were very helpful, they booked taxis for us and helped s with all the information that we wanted to know. The bus runs straight past the hotel and you can catch the tour bus just across the road which will take you to all the attractions .The breakfast was also very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivbergs Hotel Charlottenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivbergs Hotel Charlottenburg

Address: Neue Kantstrasse 2, 14057 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivbergs Hotel Charlottenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ivbergs Hotel Charlottenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivbergs Hotel Charlottenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.