We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Patzenhofer

Zum Patzenhofer
Meinekestr. 26, 10719 Berlin, Germany
+49 30 8821135
Improve this listing
Ranked #244 of 5,646 restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Pork schnitzel was ok. Average experience overall. Traditional pub decor but the staff weren't very friendly. They didn't seem to want to serve the customers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    28
    21
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nakskov, Denmark
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Very German - at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have eaten at Zum Patzenhofer several times and always been very satisfied. A superb place for a quick meal in nice surroundings. On the blackboard you always find good daily offers of typical German dishes.
This time I tried to persuade a number of friends (all new to Berlin) to join me. One was a declared vegetarian. One would only eat fish. A third friend insisted on lots of vegetables. I then doubted if Zum Patzenhofer would be the right place. Luckily we went anyway and gave it a try - and I discovered that the menu had far more things to offer than I thought. So in the end everybody had an excellent meal and a very good time, partly entertained by the always friendly and witty waiter. Only my veggie-friend was a bit disappointed that she only had two different types of vegetable.
Specialty of that week was fresh white aspargus. Always a treat and here prepared immaculately.
Everything else was well prepared too, and the prices are surprisingly low considering the location, the ambience and the quality. You are 50 metres off Ku-Damm, and that is maybe why relatively few tourists find their way to here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, quick service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Went here with my little girl and we split a kiba (cherry banana juice) and the Koenigberger Klopse (meatballs in caper sauce) with mashed potatoes and beet salad. The food was very good, a big portion, and they even added more garnish to my leftovers. Friendly quick service, though we did eat a later lunch. The waiter even gave my kid an Easter egg as a present for dessert. Would go back again. Nice pub style food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Traditional pub, traditional food, a few yards from the Ku'damm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Decided to try this place having eaten at the Krombach further down the road on a previous visit to Berlin, and were glad that we did. In fact on a 5 night visit we ate here twice, so it must have been good. The first time I had a beef stew with dumpling and red cabbage, whilst the wife had a huge tuna salad. The second visit I had a schnitzel topped with onions and cheese, served with bratkartoffeln - delicious fried potatoes with lardons. Wife wasn't over hungry so opted for just a starter of fried brie, this turned out to be almost the size of my main! The menu was quite diverse and reasonably priced, as were the drinks. On both occasions, including 2 rounds of drinks, the bill was just around €30. Excellent value for a traditional German pub/restaurant just of the bustling Ku'damm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Typical German Pub - but with good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

In the prestigious Kurfürstendamm neighborhood (just few steps in a side-street) we were recommended to dine in this place.
It was excellent.
Nice atmosphere, nice drinks (a very good and "friendly" plum brandy, and good selection of beer), very good food.
One of the previous review is titled "very friendly" - well, I think it was an other shift of waiters.
Or this is considered to be friendly - for German waiters...
(It was nothing wrong, but I would not come to the "friendly title", when I want to share my impression..
All together: I definitely want to be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Patzenhofer also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Zum Patzenhofer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum Patzenhofer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.