We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Neighborhood Dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Patzenhofer

Zum Patzenhofer
Meinekestr. 26, 10719 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
+49 30 8821135
Improve this listing
Ranked #239 of 6,085 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Winston-Salem
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Neighborhood Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Just off busy Kurfurstendamm, this cozy place is a nice calm neighborhood restaurant kind of place. The decor is very old German, comfortable, and reflects the cheerful disposition of those working here. The food was delicious and ample. I'd be glad to come here often.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    32
    3
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great little pub and eatery across the street from Columbus!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Not as formal as the Krombach, this little pub is better suited to a few drinks with your friends and they serve food too; GOOD food. I had the Wiener Schnitzel -yum!
Left my bag with passport and Eurail Pass there; they looked after it for me till I realised I had left it behind and came back to collect it. On ya guys!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty food, warm and welcoming atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is one of my favorite small and cozy restaurants in Berlin. This place is run by a senior-age couple. The food was served relatively quickly, was fresh and tasty, and the hosts were welcoming and polite. The prices were reasonable. The couple reminded me my grandparents and the food they served took me back to the childhood times. Real nostalgia... I will definitely return to this place again when I am in Berlin next time.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Real Berlin, Deutsche Küche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We just spent a week in Berlin and ate at Zum Patzenhofer 5 times for lunch and dinner. We've been eating here since the early 90s and love the place. Sure it feels like Grammas, but that for me is a plus. Rarely do we hear any language but German. The prices are low, the quality is high, the service amiable. Being located right off the Ku'damm it is convenient for those visiting or staying in Charlottenburg or the surrounding area.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Quite nice, although slightly tired decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We had nurmberg sausages and the schnitzel, both of which were very tasty. The service was good, and prices were quite cheap. The only downside was the decor- a profusion of lace doilies, which makes it look a bit like your grandmother's drawing room. Not bad for some good German food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Patzenhofer also viewed

 

Been to Zum Patzenhofer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum Patzenhofer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.