We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, warm and welcoming atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Patzenhofer

Zum Patzenhofer
Meinekestr. 26, 10719 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
+49 30 8821135
Improve this listing
Ranked #307 of 6,196 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty food, warm and welcoming atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is one of my favorite small and cozy restaurants in Berlin. This place is run by a senior-age couple. The food was served relatively quickly, was fresh and tasty, and the hosts were welcoming and polite. The prices were reasonable. The couple reminded me my grandparents and the food they served took me back to the childhood times. Real nostalgia... I will definitely return to this place again when I am in Berlin next time.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    35
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Real Berlin, Deutsche Küche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We just spent a week in Berlin and ate at Zum Patzenhofer 5 times for lunch and dinner. We've been eating here since the early 90s and love the place. Sure it feels like Grammas, but that for me is a plus. Rarely do we hear any language but German. The prices are low, the quality is high, the service amiable. Being located right off the Ku'damm it is convenient for those visiting or staying in Charlottenburg or the surrounding area.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quite nice, although slightly tired decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We had nurmberg sausages and the schnitzel, both of which were very tasty. The service was good, and prices were quite cheap. The only downside was the decor- a profusion of lace doilies, which makes it look a bit like your grandmother's drawing room. Not bad for some good German food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Value and Good German Red Wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We went to this restaurant on our first night and were not disappointed. No starters necessary! I had the knuckle of pork and was served half of a pig's rear quarters. Only 12 euros. The german Donfelder wine served by the generous glass was delicious. The dry Riesling was also good. Great stuff!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“little gem of k'dam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We found this little gem and it became our regular place after much sightseeing!. We enjoyed the laid back atmosphere and the food was good and very reasonably priced.
The staff were all helpful and evene recommended dishes and drinks, which we always enjoyed with a smile

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Patzenhofer also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Zum Patzenhofer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum Patzenhofer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.