We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Strudel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of "Ambrosius"

"Ambrosius"
Einemstr. 14, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49 30 2640526
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,932 of 5,952 Restaurants in Berlin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Strudel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had dinner here as it was close to our hotel. The Weinerschnitzel and strudel were delicious. We sat outside as it was a nice summer night and found it very comfortable. The waitress was so nice and although she was shy about speaking English she really spoke very well. She did her best to explain the food to us as this was our first trip to Berlin.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely local restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant and decided to eat here for dinner this evening. The food, service and value was amazing! We both had the Weinerschnitzel followed by the Apple Strudel and both were happy with the choices. Would highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“taste of Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

After visiting Berlin Zoo we were walking across narrow streets of city center and accidently noticed a storefront with some specific name. There were no people inside. And as we were rather tired after a long walking we decided to come in. It was very cosy and comfortable. We didn't speak German while a girl spoke English also not well but we understood each other perfectly! The menu contained everything that we expected to find in German cuisine. I highly recomend this restaurant for those who is looking for peace and rest in the center of Berlin and also for those who want to try the flavour of Germany.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good place for a quick lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stay with the traditional food and on sunny days enjoy the terrace. We ate here the whole week and we not disappointed once.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Ignore the other...this is the one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have just written a review for this restaurant under 'Ambrosius' but now it seems that the one that I meant it to be about was the 'Gastsatte Ambrosius'. Most confusing! Anyway the one you need to eat at is in a road (Einemstrasse 14) just at the rear of the Hotel Berlin, Berlin. Check it out for good honest dishes at reasonable prices. We ate there 3 times during our one week stay in Berlin and would do so again if we ever return to the city. Be warned if you are on a diet.....the portions are generous!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed "Ambrosius" also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to "Ambrosius"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage "Ambrosius", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.