We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to the time machine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metzer Eck

Metzer Eck
Metzer Str. 33, 10405 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)
+49 30 4427656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #226 of 5,975 Restaurants in Berlin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Prenzlauer Berg
Tulsa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Welcome to the time machine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a small corner pub in Berlin's Prenzlauer Berg district that was formerly called "Windmuehlenberg" (you didn't know that, did you!?). This part of the district was developed after the Franco-Prussian war of 1871 during Gruenderzeit, the development paid for with French reparation money. The many Alsatian street names in this part of town -- Metz, Belfort, Strasburg, Kolmar, Muehlhausen -- are a reminder of that fact. "Metzer Eck" is located on the corner of Metzer and Strassburger Strasse. It dates back to 1913 and was passed down the generations. It has, indeed, seen its fair share of German history. Remarkably, it made it thru the years of GDR socialism as a private business. The owners are conscious of their great tradition and display historical memorabilia inside the pub: a letter from the Berlin painter Heinrich Zille, some inflation money from the 1923 hyperinflation, the original beer pump from around 1900 and a beautiful tiled stove make the interior cosy and a welcome break from the hipster culture around it. They serve their own dark beer and sturdy German food: lots of potatoes, Schnitzels and sausages. The staff is nice and welcoming, prices are moderate, and during the summer, you can sit at tables outside. Don't miss it, it's a memorable place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great local pub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in last night for a small meal. We had wonderful dinner, the best food I've had in Germany this year. We were met by the owner as we walked in and she gave us a reserved (for locals) table. Great beer and wine. The meatball and fries were like my Swedish aunt used to make. Schnitzel was flavorful and tender. Apple struddle with vanilla sauce will make return this week.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“excellent little spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We only popped in here for a drink, but ended up staying to eat as the the place, service and atmosphere is lovely. Laid back and efficient staff and really good food. All you could expect from a local Kniepe.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Local german comfort food and good company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We visited here last night and had the best meal of a 3 week trip to Switzerland and Germany - schnitzel with fried potatoes - yummm!! Czech Budvar on tap and a lot of locals eating here. We returned tonight for a beer and ended up staying for dinner again - this time my husband had the schnitzel. Boy was it good. Very friendly waitress who is comfortable with English and our very bad German. Enjoyed the company of some locals who made an effort to share their lives with us. Don't miss this place. It has been around for almost 100 years and in the possession of 1 family for 4 generations. Great experience. Check out the old slot machine and the piggy bank on the wall.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A knowingly authentic ost-Kniepe. A real must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

As Prenzlauer becomes more and more gentrified, Metzer Eck is is a real taste of a family run 'pub' that has mastered the basics to survive in this former Ost suburb. It's not a tourist bar like those awful fake bier halls in Alex, this a a real local pub with regulars flocking here as the beer is good the service is honest and the snacks are traditional. Don't expect a huge warm welcome - that's reserved for the locals - but at the same time you will feel comfortable here. Lovely outside area too. Steeped in genuine local history on the walls, a really must. If you are into German history, read Peter Millar's Berlin Wall - My Part In Its Downfall before you go for a real insight into the story of this pub and the people who have made it last this long.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metzer Eck also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Metzer Eck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metzer Eck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.