We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gerichtslaube

Gerichtslaube
Poststrasse 28, im historischen Nikolaiviertel, 10178 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49 30 2415697
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #318 of 5,980 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $12 - $21
Cuisines: Diner, German, Gastropub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mitte
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you like original German food, this is a good place to start. If you would like to have dinner you should not forget to make a reservation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    175
    44
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
538 helpful votes 538 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I brought some colleagues here after a meeting and we had a good time. Staff was nice and the food was good and abundant.
Next to traditional German or Prussian food they have some adventurous stuff on the menu, like the baked pear stuffed with blue cheese for starters.
The toilet on the first floor could be a little larger.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We decided to try this place as it looked very inviting from the outside. We were not disappointed as the food was really lovely. Menu was quite extensive, and we were able to find something not very expensive. It was probably the best herring dish I have tried for years! Really good food and authentic German one. Service was very efficient and staff was very helpful.
This place has a lovely atmosphere and if I will be visiting Berlin again, I will definitely go to this restaurant again.
One little comment about the area - in my opinion Nicolai quarter/ Nikolaiviertel was one of my favourite places during our stay in Berlin

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Rich & hearty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a very small restaurant, but we were fortunate enough to get a table after a 10 minute wait. The beer wasn't cheap (around ?4 for 0.5l) but was really nice & this restaurant had its own brew. There was a bit of a wait, but the staff were friendly enough & the food was lovely.

There was a lot of filling food on the menu, so maybe not a place for a quick snack. There were things like soup, roast wild boar, pork, venison, dumplings, etc. The roast venison was tender & delicious and the truffled potatoes were lovely too.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have chosen this restaurant since the rating was good and actually did not regret about our choice. The place is easy to reach from Museum Island. It can be full so try to book in advance. The food and beer was typically local with a lot of variety of dishes. The bill was a bit higher when average but it is still nice place to visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerichtslaube also viewed

 

Been to Gerichtslaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerichtslaube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.