We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touristy, so what? I am a tourist!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gerichtslaube

Gerichtslaube
Poststrasse 28, im historischen Nikolaiviertel, 10178 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49 30 2415697
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #312 of 5,647 restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $14 - $23
Cuisines: Diner, German, Gastropub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mitte
Kfar HaMaccabi, Israel
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Touristy, so what? I am a tourist!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The restaurant is in the Nikoleiviertel, a reconstructed version of "old Berlin". The interior is supposed to be a medieval setting. Unless your doing your PhD in medieval archaeology, flow with it! The food is good. I had venison goulasch and was very satisfied with it. The service was fine: quick, efficient, and polite. The price is standard for most Berlin restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    109
    156
    33
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service without a smile ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on the TripAdvisor app. The map was very confusing, but we found it eventually. This place has a lovely outside area for eating and drinking. However, it started to rain and so we had to go inside. The inside is decorative and traditional. The food and beer was sublime and reasonably priced. I had the pig knuckle which was massive and extremely tasty. This place is let down by the serving staff, as found by other reviewers. None of the staff have the ability to smile! We found this to almost be rude. If the owner reads this, I suggest that some simple training wouldn't go amiss.

A nice little hidden gem, slightly let down by the lack of traditional German hospitality!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
virginia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Traditional German Seemingly Catering to Tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We enjoyed the traditional german food, of good authentic quality- yet not one german speaking client was noted at the tables- perhaps because this was an early dinner- or is primarily catering to the tourist trade? The pear was passable- the cold meat platter was quite extensive and tasty for those who have grown up on german heritage type foods will enjoy the memorable tastes. Very easy walk from Museum island.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Very nice food and design!.....
Low prices for this faboulous food!....
Potato soup with bacon,mushrooms been excelent..
You should visit it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a good freindly traditional restaurant, but VERY meaty menu, including a vegiterian section with Turkey Snitchzel!! Good value for money, but not very exciting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerichtslaube also viewed

 

Been to Gerichtslaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerichtslaube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.