We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Bieberbau

Restaurant Bieberbau
Durlacher Strasse 15, 10715 Berlin, Germany
+49 30 8532390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 7,112 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $71
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The dining room of the Bieberbau bears the signature of the sculptor / master plasterer Richard Bieber. He sat down in 1894 so that a monument. Driven from his old workshop in Leipziger Strasse by the new Tietz, he built in the Durlacher Street, a new studio building. Expressionist painters like Pechstein and Kirchner lived and worked here. The Bieberbau served as an inn for painters, neighbors and guests, and at the same time as a showcase for plastering sector work: An army of masters and apprentices created sculptures that Bieber's customers as a model and inspiration and at the same time the construction of the restaurant guests should serve. In war, the house burned and lost its once magnificent facade. Miraculously, but remained Bieber guest room completely spared. The restaurant has developed in the postwar period to a slide fail to fall into a deep sleep later. From the Bieberbau was awakened by the chef and owner Karl Kling until 1967, with a passion for the interior and the tradition of the restaurant. In 1986, he restored the Bieberbau loving. Since then, the dining room is a listed building. Today the ornamentation of Bieberbau stores fascinating testimony of a forgotten art form. Guests who appreciate the atmosphere of the modeled stucco truss and dine in the imaginative decor, Richard Bieber are grateful for his work. This is probably why the restaurant carries to this day the name "Bieberbau". The restaurant is a unique jewel in Berlin's gastronomic landscape.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

As others have said, thank you Tripadvisor, as one would never come across this place randomly. We had an amazing dinner and experience there, and although it isn't cheap, it was really a very good value for the quality (and fun -- loved the presentation, particularly on the small items). Convenient to the S-Bahn, otherwise somewhat out-of-the-way. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bebseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“" Simple and wonderful "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a great lunch for excellence in Bieberbau - an absolutely fantastic restaurant that we would never find without TripAdvisor. The food here is delicious and beautiful. Décor of their dishes are unique and exotic. Complete our lunch was provided in an elegant presentation, and thoughtful. The staff love what they do and it shows. Explanation is given for each dish. The space is quite cozy. the gap between the very small table, so we can get acquainted with the person you native easily. Prices here do not have much and I think it's absolutely true value. I would recommend this restaurant to my friends at school want to visit Berlin. I will come back here if given the chance. We really liked this place behave

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thao Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food; understaffed, poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

When we arrived, it took the servers 15 minutes to bring drinks and a menu and they looked harassed. While they were friendly, the restaurant is clearing understaffed. The two only entrees on the menu were finished, so we were offered substitutes. They were fine, but it seemed like poor planning to not have enough entrees. The food was superb, with creative amuse bouche, as were the wine choices. A shame there was such a gap between the efficiency of service (poor) and the excellent food. I'm afraid despite the quality of cuisine, because of the service, I wouldn't recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MWillliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Does it get better?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had an absolutely outstanding dinner at Bieberbau - an absolutely amazing restaurant that we would never have found without TripAdvisor. You reach it by subway to Innsbrucker Platz and then a 10-minute walk through residential areas.

The service was very friendly and the staff and the owner really knew how to make sure the guests feel welcome and special.

The food was absolutely outstanding and we got excellent value for money. We selected a four course menu and with all the small teasers they serve we talk about 8 courses... With wines and coffee we landed well below 200 EUR for the two of us.

Everything very tastefully served as well - bread-baskets from Stelton where the home-made bread was accompanied by a straw of wheat, small mini pots from Le Creuset for some of the dishes etc.

It is only a matter of time until this place has a big fat star in Guide Michelin!

FANTASTIC!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hotell Oskar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“CERTAIN TO PROVIDE ENJOYMENT & GOOD VALUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Friendly bilingual staff
Distinctive menu: bold innovative combinations that mostly work
Good execution: cooking & presentation

Am certain to return..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HKPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Bieberbau also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Restaurant Bieberbau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing