We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Bieberbau

Restaurant Bieberbau
Durlacher Strasse 15, 10715 Berlin, Germany
+49 30 8532390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 6,382 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $47 - $71
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The dining room of the Bieberbau bears the signature of the sculptor / master plasterer Richard Bieber. He sat down in 1894 so that a monument. Driven from his old workshop in Leipziger Strasse by the new Tietz, he built in the Durlacher Street, a new studio building. Expressionist painters like Pechstein and Kirchner lived and worked here. The Bieberbau served as an inn for painters, neighbors and guests, and at the same time as a showcase for plastering sector work: An army of masters and apprentices created sculptures that Bieber's customers as a model and inspiration and at the same time the construction of the restaurant guests should serve. In war, the house burned and lost its once magnificent facade. Miraculously, but remained Bieber guest room completely spared. The restaurant has developed in the postwar period to a slide fail to fall into a deep sleep later. From the Bieberbau was awakened by the chef and owner Karl Kling until 1967, with a passion for the interior and the tradition of the restaurant. In 1986, he restored the Bieberbau loving. Since then, the dining room is a listed building. Today the ornamentation of Bieberbau stores fascinating testimony of a forgotten art form. Guests who appreciate the atmosphere of the modeled stucco truss and dine in the imaginative decor, Richard Bieber are grateful for his work. This is probably why the restaurant carries to this day the name "Bieberbau". The restaurant is a unique jewel in Berlin's gastronomic landscape.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had reserved a table at Bieberbau to celebrate a special occasion and I have to say that the restaurant made the occasion even more special. The food was just awesome and very inventive with things like olive ice-cream for pre-dessert. We had the five course menu and ended up eating nine courses with all the little extras they served. Although the food was on this very high fine dining level, the staff was friendly and we felt comfortable.

I recommend Bieberbau with all my heart. Our dinner there was one of the best meals I've ever eaten.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    33
    11
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Flavoursome Berlin cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A great little restaurant in Berlin. Good value and great flavours with spot on wine matching make this place a little gem. The service was attentive and the flawless English of the host makes this a good choice for those with little or rusty German. I would happily eat here over and over again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Totally deserves its bib gourmand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Located in a somewhat strange (suburbia) neighborhood a bit outside of centrum Berlin (25 min by subway from Unter den Linden and then a 7 min walk). Try to combine dining here with visiting the nice park.

The menu consists of two five course menus from which you can get a 3 or 4 course subset if you are less hungry. I was hungry so I had the 5 course menu with wine, bubbles and coffee. The food was absolutely delightful. Style is modern german inspired food from a chef that obviously is aware of contemporary trends in the trade and uses then where appropriate. The bread was homemade and of good quality. And al the dishes had a near wow effect to them. I dare to say that the experience was all in all better than some of the 1 michelin star restaurants I have eaten at around the world and is comparable with similar price places in my hometown (reference is a usual Belgium/Brussels).

A small hint to the place from my side is that it might be nice to offer an menu with selected wines. although there were enough 1 glass options to choose from.

Oh yes, the price for all this: 5 course menu + aperitif + wine with each course + desert wine + coffee (with nice homemade biscuits) = 105 euro (a total bargain)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent, Creative Food; Amazing Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Recently went to Bieberbau with our two sons at the recommendation of our hotel (we asked for good, modern German food, in an authentic spot). Although a bit out of the way, Bieberbau is definitely worth the trip. The restaurant is run by a husband and wife team and the menu is a very creative, modern take on German cuisine. There are 3-, 4- and 5- course menus -- all extremely reasonably priced given the quality. We opted for the 3 course and, taking into account the amuse-bouches, suprise offerings and cookies from the kitchen, was more than enough for us. An excellent, German/Austria focused wine list. The restaurant is in a stucco showroom from circa 1900, which is worth the visit alone.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“crazy, very appealing, totally unexpected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

if you wanna go for something totally different in Berlin, go to BIEBERBAU, in a quiet street in an area which is not hip at all, you'll find some of the best and most interesting food in Berlin, in a historic, typically oldstyle Berlin setup, the Bieberbau chef is giving you multifacetted, very unconventional taste adventures, very good attentative service and a well selected wine list are adding to the pleasure

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Bieberbau also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Restaurant Bieberbau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Bieberbau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.