We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - yes it's just a kebab - but a good one” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mustafa's Gemuese Kebab

Mustafa's Gemuese Kebab
Mehringdamm 32, 10961 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 6,035 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Fast Food, Turkish, Vegetarian, Grill, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent - yes it's just a kebab - but a good one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Berlin is full of good kebab shops/stands. If you threw a wooden fork anywhere in Berlin, especially Kreuzberg or Neukoln, you'll hit a great one. So for this one to impress me was going to take some doing. I went on a Saturday afternoon, and there was only one person in front of me in the queue (in the Friedrichstrasse one) - so that was a welcome surprise.

A doner kebab is 3 euros - and I must admit - in terms of freshness, efficiency, taste , speed, flavour, it probably is the best kebab Ive had, certainly for the price.

Don't get to hung up on making this a 'must-see' - Berlin is full of great alternatives as I said - but go if you are passing - well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    262
    97
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wien, Österreich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Kebab - insanely hyped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hands down Mustafas Kebab is very tasty and cheap. The hype around it is reaching ridiculous dimensions though. No kebab is good enough to make me wait in line 20 minutes in average. (Last time I passed the place the queue almost reached Curry 36)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“waited for 2,5 hours to get a kebab!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Im from Berlin and actually not into doner too much but my friend from Munich visited me and we randomly passed by the huge queue. she was asking me to recommend her a good kebap in berlin and thats what suited perfectly. i took the challenge to wait with her and it took us exactly 2,5 hours. it was simply amazing to watch people either giving up or holding on. we were asking ourselves why we would do this crazy thing but after a while you only keep up because you already waited for too long and only get curious about whether you will make it to get the doner. and we did. luckily my friend liked it and said it was worth it.

me myself got to taste it earlier when i once saw only a couple of people waiting and knew that i shouldnt miss the chance. other than that i would never wait for something to eat longer than 20 min. i can also say that it is indeed very tasty. but i.also need to admt that putting a stand right in front a hostel is the main reason why it got so popular. locals would know some other place to go to get a doner and find one as tasty or even tastier. the only crtique is: man you know you got so popular so either open up another stand next to it or a bigger one with more employed people to avoid such queues and starving people.

so guys dont underestimate the waiting and think twice before queuing especially if you have a limited time to stay over in berlin. im sure you get another nice kebab nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best döner on the planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

With only 3 euros you get the best kebap it is possible to make. Naturally there is always a line so be ready to wait 15 minutes - 1 hour. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Just in front of the Metropol Hostel Berlin in the Kreuzberg district of Berlin, this place is a must-visit. It's not so much the quality of food (I mean, it's still fast food), it's the whole experience. The kebab was very decent and it certainly beat all the fast food alternatives (the curry-wurst included), but I don't want to miss the real point - there's a constant line of a hungry motley crew hanging out in front of the place. It's well worth your while joining it! The place offers your classic kebabs, durums etc., and the people serving it make quite a bit of a show of it. So if you find yourself there, join the line! You won't regret it! Oh, and by the way, at less than 5€ per order this is by far the cheapest meal you can get in Berlin ...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mustafa's Gemuese Kebab also viewed

 

Been to Mustafa's Gemuese Kebab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mustafa's Gemuese Kebab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.