We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Circus Hotel to your Saves list
The Circus Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #3 of 667 Hotels in Berlin
E-town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Trendy hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel kind of reminded me of a hotel I stayed at in New York City. The Circus Hotel is in a good location. I discovered (by experience) that it's about a half an hour walk to the Brandenburg Gate, or about a 5 minute ride on the U-Bahn! Speaking of which, you can sign out/rent a public transportation pass from the reception for €4.50/day (you just need to leave a piece of ID or health card or something as a deposit). Which is good because the cost of public transportation can add up, and you definitely use the S-Bahn/U-Bahn/trams a lot as Berlin is a sprawling city.

I liked my room. I overlooked the very busy intersection, which was noisy, but since I'm used to that, the sounds of traffic/sirens/the tram didn't bother me at all. The rooms are indeed hot, but I had a fan in mine, so I have no complaints there. And my bed was SO COMFORTABLE. Loved it.

I quite enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the €8 cost was worth it, esp. since they have about 8 different varieties of muesli. Also, apparently all their food is organic or free range, which isn't important to me, but they had loads of healthy stuff.

Also, free WiFi.

Great hotel. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,537
    397
    58
    7
    1
See reviews for
216
1,111
141
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband stayed at The Circus Hotel for six nights in May/
June 2013. The accommodation is centrally located in Berlin, close to museums, public transport ànd restaurants. Our room was nicely decorated with a good sized bathroom. Rooms are very clean, staff are very friendly & obliging. Breakfast at €8 is good value. This accommodation is also well priced for the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great location. Travelled with party of friends and we all had good rooms, there was massive bathroom with ours. Lots of nice touches eg IPad chargers etc to make your stay really comfortable; and to be honest things which I wouldn't expect for a hotel with such reasonable rates.

Loved the breakfast, everything fresh and high quality. We also ate in the hotel at their Gin & Jazz evening; highly recommend the braised beef cheeks and bramble gin!

Hotel staff were v good; they arranged a Segway trip for some of our party and couldn't have done more to help. We had a room on the 3rd floor above the street, there was some noise but there again you're right in a city so not sure what else you'd expect?! All in all an incredibly good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

For the first time in Berlin ,I booked Circus based on the reviews on trip advisor and it was a great choice. Everyone from the front desk( I believe Jerry ) to the barman was friendly and made me feel at home and helped me get my bearings in a new city. The location is great, and there is some amazing gellato, coffee and shwarma all across the street at amazing prices compared to NYC. I missed the rooftop bar but next time would like to have a glass of wine up there. The fast and quick free wifi was also much appreciated. My only minor disappointment was with the breakfast buffet. For 8 euros you are much better off buying food nearby . Thank you and I hope to be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard if you are light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishman abroad
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews on here, I booked the Circus for a short break. Important to be fair and considered, so here are the good points:

- Friendly service, helpful and welcoming
- Clean and Tidy on the whole, beds were also comfortable. Shower excellent, good bathroom facilities.
- Reasonable value for money
- Well located and ease of access to underground station.

Not so good points:

- Over-hyped. I cannot believe this is rated consistently the best hotel in Berlin. There must be some shockers in the 4* and 5* category if they cannot beat the Circus.
- No Air-con, just a blooming noisy fan. If travelling in summer, be aware - this wasn't ideal, even for a 3*
- Extremely small room - we were in 117 with no view. I didn't specially ask for one which wasn't really a problem, but the space in the room was cramped. Two people could not pass each other between the beds and the door for the bathroom.
- Breakfast is massively over rated. €8 could buy you a much nicer one further down Rosenthaler St or down towards Alexandra Platz. We ate once there and did not return.
- Servie in adjoining bar was a bit unattentive, and did not make you want to return for a late drink (we went across the road instead).

So, it is a good hotel for the money, but surely not the best in Berlin? It's no better than a slighly up market Premier Travel Inn in my view, and although the staff are excellent, the hotel itself and furnishings are acceptable, but not outstanding. Loved Berlin, but may try an alternative venue for a more luxurious experience next time.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very friendly staff, nice room, all good, highly recommended. Restaurant downstairs has ok food , nice atmosphere and jazz later in the evening. Our room had window into the restaurant courtyard and there was some noise latd at night. Not sure if outside facing room might be better.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent six nights here the third full week in May. The location is fabulous for sightseeing with many transportation options right outside the door plus a wonderful assortment of reasonably-priced ethnic restaurants within a two-block walk that we tried and liked: Transit (Asian small dishes), Gorky Park (Russian), Yumcha Heroes (dumplings), and Maya (Mexican). The young hotel staff from all around the world could not be nicer and more helpful; the organic breakfast was fabulous, with great coffee, wonderful breads and fresh yogurts and a plethora of interesting granola choices, with enough variety that we ate there all six mornings of our stay; the rooms sparkling clean and refreshingly decorated. Be aware there is no air conditioning although good fans are supplied for your use; I would book elsewhere in the hot summer months. The reduced-rate transit pass also was a nice option, and having the bath products on a request basis at the desk indeed reduces wastage. I loved all the eco-friendly endeavors.

The only negative: you absolutely must have a room facing the inner courtyard in order to sleep because the noise on the Rosenthaler Platz side, particularly the horrendously screeching brakes of the tram, was very loud, even using earplugs. We found this out because although I booked in January and was assured of a room on the third floor facing the courtyard, and I reconfirmed this booking by email just one week before our arrival, there was a snafu and the first night we had to sleep in a room facing the street. This proved to be very difficult even through we were exhausted from our overnight flight from the USA. We were moved the next day to a courtyard room, which was fine, and the hotel waived the cost of the night, which was very considerate and appreciated. (We saw others switch rooms to the courtyard side during our stay as well.) I personally found the beds (no box springs) very hard as well although my husband had no issues with them.

You could not find a nicer, friendlier staff in a non-family-owned hotel. It makes such a difference to one's stay and provided a nice homey environment for six-day visit to Berlin.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#8 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#1 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#2 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#6 Family Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Circus Guest,We are looking forward to welcome you to the Circus Hotel, bringing to you 60 single and double rooms, junior suites and apartments with all facilities.Opened October 30th, 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services to make your stay truly special, including iPods’ loaded with the best of Berlin music, bike and segway rental, and a garden courtyard that provides the perfect place to relax, unwind, and reflect on your Berlin experiences. Of course we provide free Wi-Fi troughout the building.Added to this, at our restaurant Fabisch you can discover a modern and healthy approach to German cooking, sip cocktails in the manner of Sally Bowles, and enjoy a range of artistic and cultural events that reflect the nature of our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Circus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.