We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Circus Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Circus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Trust the other great reviews - I did and spent five great days with the exceptional staff of the Circus Berlin. Took me a couple of days to get my head around Berlin's neighborhoods - once I did, I realized how perfectly situated this property is. The staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. And breakfast? Just awesome. Don't hesitate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,343
    340
    53
    7
    1
See reviews for
187
976
116
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you're very lucky you may find a hotel as good as this but I doubt that you'll find one better.
It's in a great location ( walkable to many locations) with train, trolley and buses on your doorstep. The staff couldn't be more helpful, it's obvious that they enjoy what they're doing and nothing is too much trouble. The room was very comfortable with quality fixtures and everything was in good working order. The restaurant food was equally as good and the bar had live music. The late breakfast 1pm is one of many great ideas and options that they have to offer. A definite winner.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose the location you want, there is a hostel in a separate building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in one of the junior suites last week and for our first trip to Berlin I don't think we could have chosen a better hotel - very well located, immediately next to a U-Bahn station and ideal for what we wanted to do in Berlin ... which was basically have a good base whilst we explored an amazing city. Nice helpful and friendly staff, great breakfast choices, very relaxing bar area with iPods and books available to pass the time, plus the room we had was very welcoming with a fantastic walk in shower - the hotel itself is beautifully designed and very good value for money. Only improvements I would suggest would be to have a mini-bar or fridge in the rooms and some people may like to have a bath rather than shower, but apart from that a really good choice and personally we would/will go back here when visiting the city.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite, nice open space and good shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This an excellent hotel located in one of the most interesting parts of Mitte. The staff was incredibly helpful; I didn't have a tour guide with me and I didn't need one; they had various different suggestions for tours for all tastes. The breakfast is excellent and available till 1PM (but you don't need to book it in advance; it's the same price if you just order and charge it to your room). The contemporary decor is very nice, and much better than what you'd expect given their relatively low price. My only complaint is that the curtains don't do a great job of keeping the sun out, so if you're there in the summer, it might be difficult to sleep in (but, then again, you might appreciate the feel extra hours in Berlin...).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent three nights at the Circus Hotel. Had a room with King bed and en-suite bathroom with shower. We flew into Tegel airport with morning arrival, and followed the hotel's directions to arrive at the hotel. A bus from the airport to a U-bahn stop, and then the U-bahn to the hotel. Dropped of our bags and toured until check in time. Spacious room, clean. Staff speaks good english. Ate in on site restaurant one night, was good. Best thing about hotel was the location. Close to Rosenthaler Platz U-bahn stop. Walking distance close to many restaurants and the museums.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

A modern hotel in a good location in Berlin. We were close to transportation to get wherever we needed. The room was big enough, customer service gave us great recommendations, and access to Internet/printer was helpful. The only downside was no free breakfast and the breakfast options were expensive for what you got. There were plenty of delicious and more reasonable breakfast places nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

It's number 1 on TA, so what can I say? Go to this hotel's website and what you'll see is that this hotel really thinks about why guests are here. To see Berlin. They have a really great mag that gives you recommendations from different staff who have their own passions in Berlin, like jazz, food or whatever. So there are recommendations to keep most people happy. They also offer walks, guided or on your own, different types of transport to hire, including segways. We didn't use these, as we only had a few days, but we definitely refined what we had planned to do based on their magazine. The location is brilliant, with trams and subways right on your doorstep. Also a great mix of shops, cafes and bars. We did hire public transport cards from reception so that was too easy. We had a double room with views over the street. Really spacious and the bathroom was enormous. Don't make the mistake my friend did. The red button and cords in the bathroom are for emergencies, not for the fan. However, you'll be pleased to know that they responded immediately with housekeeping knocking on our door and coming in when I didn't reply - because in my confusion I wasn't sure what was going on - and simultaneously we got a call from reception. (My friend decided to come clean, yelling out from the bathroom that they may have pulled the red cord.) We looked forward to a drink at Fabisch each evening and, all in all, really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#8 Family Hotel in Berlin
#31 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Circus Guest,We are looking forward to welcome you to the Circus Hotel, bringing to you 60 single and double rooms, junior suites and apartments with all facilities.Opened October 30th, 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services to make your stay truly special, including iPods’ loaded with the best of Berlin music, bike and segway rental, and a garden courtyard that provides the perfect place to relax, unwind, and reflect on your Berlin experiences. Of course we provide free Wi-Fi troughout the building.Added to this, at our restaurant Fabisch you can discover a modern and healthy approach to German cooking, sip cocktails in the manner of Sally Bowles, and enjoy a range of artistic and cultural events that reflect the nature of our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Budget Places so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Circus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.