We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great location,and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Circus Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Circus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Powys, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great location,and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a lovely hotel,it really exceeded our expectations. We had pre-booked a junior suite ( larger than usual room, big comfy bed, big bathroom and great walk-in shower) which was spotlessly clean, modern, cosy, with tea making facilities. When the booking was made, the hotel web site gave helpful information about how to get to it from different airports, railway stations etc. This made our short journey from Tegel airport really simple. The hotel is right by the Rosenthaler Platz U bahn stop so it makes getting around Berlin easy.
It has a modern but thoroughly comfortable bar/lounge/reception area, and the Fabische restaurant on site.We enjoyed a couple of coffees, beers and nightcaps in the bar, but chose to have breakfast in a nearby cafe, and ate out in the evenings. There is a good choice of nearby restaurants, but going further afield is no problem. This being our first trip to Berlin, we did a lot of sight seeing and museums andThe Circus provided us with a welcoming haven at the end of each day. We would certainly aim to return to Berlin, as it is impossible to do it justice in 3 days, and will definitely return to the Circus. The staff were all helpful and informative .

Room Tip: There is a lift to all floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,343
    340
    53
    7
    1
See reviews for
187
976
116
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Arrived earlier than our check in time but the staff were great, taken our bags to a secure room leaving us free to go for a wander. When we arrived back we were checked in and our bags were already brought up.
Very nice room, not massive but to be honest you spend more time out and about. I have to say though, the shower was fantastic.
Great staff and fantastic value for money. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked The Circus because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and it didn't disappoint!! The staff were fantastic, the hotel was amazing and the cocktails were perfect!

The whole city was fantastic and I'd definitely recommend doing one of the hotel walking tours, the guides were excellent and so knowledgeable. What is also great is that the tubes run all night and are super easy to navigate.

All in all a truly excellent trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I am still here, having a wonderful time, using the free wifi in he hotel sitting in the bar area having the most wonderful cocktails by Aussie Barman Mike. He makes the best Old Fashioned cocktails.
Cannot fault this hotel. Rooms are spotless and adequate. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast ok. Great location for seeing all the sites. Will always stay here o my visits to Berlin.

Room Tip: If you sleep with a window open, dont get a room overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I visited this hotel for the second time in November. The staff are very, very friendly and always happy to advise and help.

I recommend the DDR self guided walk on the hotels 'things to do' website. A great introduction to Berlin and to get your bearings.

We stayed in a junior suite that was very comfortable and met all our requirements. Sorting out coffee and milk for our room was a bit of a hassle. You need to go to the restaurant to get milk then reception / concierge to get filter coffee and a coffee maker! Not the most convenient.

The breakfast is delicious and exceptional value for 8 euros.

I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

we stayed in this hotel for 4 nights on 4/11 - 8/11/12
and we have good things about it. it's small and quite, the front desk is so small that you can feel it's only your hotel. the room was nice and very clean. we took the street room, and it's very quite when closing the windows. the staff was very helpful (with guided for places to see and to eat). the area is nice and lot of restaurants and bars nearby, the metro (u) is just in the front.
but few things for improve: the screen TV is so small (maby 20'') its small for watching from bed, and only one channel in English (BBC). the price of the main course in Fabicha restaurant are little beet high. i recomnd that the hotel management will think to add a breakfast to the room price; even with few euros more.
but except of this was excellent,
thanks (itsik room 409)

Room Tip: i recomend to take the room to the street; and at night closing the windows and certains
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a great time at the Circus hotel. We rented the 2-bed apartment which has the advantage of being away from the main road so didn't have any noise to deal with which other reviewers have mentioned. The staff are all very friendly and speak excellent English. The aprtment was very clean, neat and well furnished, with a small kitchen. The restaurant / bar gets busy on Saturdays, and has a steady throughput of people most nights - and is reasonably priced for food and drinks. The Berlin night on a Tuesday is recommended for a taste of authentic Berlin recipes and music from the 20's - not for small appetites though! Great connections to Berlin Centre - u-bahn, tram and bus all directly outside the door - and lots of locla bars / shops / restaurants within 10 min walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#8 Family Hotel in Berlin
#31 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Circus Guest,We are looking forward to welcome you to the Circus Hotel, bringing to you 60 single and double rooms, junior suites and apartments with all facilities.Opened October 30th, 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services to make your stay truly special, including iPods’ loaded with the best of Berlin music, bike and segway rental, and a garden courtyard that provides the perfect place to relax, unwind, and reflect on your Berlin experiences. Of course we provide free Wi-Fi troughout the building.Added to this, at our restaurant Fabisch you can discover a modern and healthy approach to German cooking, sip cocktails in the manner of Sally Bowles, and enjoy a range of artistic and cultural events that reflect the nature of our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Budget Places so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Circus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;