We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest ever staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Circus Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Circus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 664 hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The friendliest ever staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

In all our travels we have never come across such friendly, helpful and efficient staff. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were equally at home in German or English - and probably many other languages also. Location is ideal, this being the most interesting part of the city. Walking distance to Museum Island, Unter den Linden and - at a stretch - the Brandenburg Gate. Our room was clean and comfortable though I would have described the decor and furnishings as "edgy". C thought they were usual for Berlin. One of the best shower units we've ever had, so much so that we now intend to instal a replica at home. The restaurant served more or less international cuisine, very acceptable, and one night there was a jazz group as well. Remarkable range of health-conscious breakfast items. Complaints? A strange shortage of hooks for hanging anything. This problem is so common (it even applies to ship's cabins) that we can only imagine that hooks are in universally short supply. Market opportunity here?
Handy tips were - bus from airport & short underground journey very convenient for this hotel.
We gained free entry to the Reichstag by queueing at the kiosk across the road from the Reichstag. One can book a day ahead, we were lucky & had returned tickets almost immediately. We enjoyed one of the many round-town bus tours, half the price of similar in London! Our only mistake was to book just three days, far too short a time to do and see so much.

Room Tip: We chose a quiet room at the back, slight noise from garden below
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,320
    321
    51
    7
    1
See reviews for
176
963
110
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I booked here for 5 nights in end September - we were here for the Berlin marathon. We booked here based on TripAdvisor reviews and it certainly did not disappoint. It is a hip hotel with friendly staff. The hotel is easily accessible (right at the exit of Rosenthaler Platz, or 10min walk along Rosanthaler Strasse from Hackescher Markt). There are also good eating places within the vicinity.

The hotel prides itself for being 'Green' and thus there is no air-conditioning and amenities (shampoo, lotion, etc) are self-service from the lobby. We had a room that faced the main road and thus it was very noisy (trams, sirens, people). If you are a light sleeper you should request for a room that faces the back.

Tip: Brewer's Free Walking Tour picks you up from the hotel at 12:45pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

the hotel is great and the staff are excellent can't fault and would definitely stay again. Location is excellent in regards to access, lots of history and places to eat and drink

just book it!!

thanks

Room Tip: I would chose a room not on the main road if you want to open the windows at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. We used the reviews we saw on trip advisor and they weren't wrong. This place was excellent. We had a 2 room apartment (we were a family of 4). It was spotlessly clean and excellently presented. Bathrooms were great too (there were two) so this place would be good for 2 couples as well as a family. It had a great kitchen but we didn't use it, but it was roomy and very functional. The people at the reception desk (and even in the restaurant) were so helpful. They are a credit to the 'Circus " name. A big thank you has to go out to Michael in the restaurant for his excellent travel tips and suggestions and for his patience with our little boy.The food here is also of a very high standard and delicious too! Berlin seems to be a fascinating place and we hope to come back and explore it properly one day...and when we do we will choose to stay back at Circus.It was a great central spot to go exploring from.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Circus deserves every great review it has received. We stayed there with three other couples and everyone was thrilled with the comfort, style, and service at the Circus. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when in Berlin. The neighborhood around the hotel is loaded with great bars, restaurants, and shopping. (And the staff gives excellent recommendations!) We had a junior suite facing the courtyard. It was reasonably priced, stylish, and completely comfortable. The breakfast for 8 euros was fabulous. The honor bar on top of the hotel and the bar/restaurant off the lobby are delightful. Everyone we encountered was extremely helpful. The hotel is really well thought-out with the traveler in mind. They have free Wi-Fi in the rooms and a computer available in the lobby for guests. They have subway passes available to guests for a small fee. The hotel's location makes it very easy to move around the city on the subways. They are also very eco-conscious. We were a little slow to figure out that you have to switch on the lights in the hallways. While toiletries are provided on request, we felt that a more eco-friendly choice would have been to provide bar soap instead of body wash.

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a terrific hotel in a great area. The staff was the best I've ever experienced; their local restaurant tips were spot on.

I loved staying at Circus and would return in a flash. I especially liked the rooftop "bar." I strongly recommend The Circus to virtually any traveler.

Room Tip: The junior suites are very spacious and well-designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a twin room for 2 nights in August and were thrilled with the quality of this hotel. Great location within easy walking of the Brandenberg gates and central tourist area. Breakfast was included and was fresh and lots of variety. There is also a relaxing garden area and a street facing bar area to sit and have drinks and enjoy the lively Berlin atmosphere. The staff wre helpful and friendly. We would highly reccomend this hotel as excellent value - under 100 euros in peak travel summer season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Berlin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#24 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Circus Guest,We are looking forward to welcome you to the Circus Hotel, bringing to you 60 single and double rooms, junior suites and apartments with all facilities.Opened October 30th, 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services to make your stay truly special, including iPods’ loaded with the best of Berlin music, bike and segway rental, and a garden courtyard that provides the perfect place to relax, unwind, and reflect on your Berlin experiences. Of course we provide free Wi-Fi troughout the building.Added to this, at our restaurant Fabisch you can discover a modern and healthy approach to German cooking, sip cocktails in the manner of Sally Bowles, and enjoy a range of artistic and cultural events that reflect the nature of our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Budget Places and HostelWorld so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Circus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.