We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Circus Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Circus Hotel to your Saves list
The Circus Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Circus Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Hotel Circus was highly recommended to us by family members who had visited recently. It has exceeded our expectations. The location, facilities and food provide excellent value for money. More importantly every staff member was cheerful, engaging, knowledgable and most helpful - we are sure this is a reflection of the owners philosophy and management approach.  We travel regularly in Europe on a modest budget and the circus has provided the best hotel experience we have enjoyed in many years. We will be back and will highly recommend it to family and friends. 
Rita Zammit and Norman Huon
Melbourne, Australia

Room Tip: Room 411 is excellent value for money - it has a lovely private terrace and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,409
    359
    55
    7
    1
See reviews for
195
1,016
127
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

A cool hotel in a cool city! The staff are young, bright and switched on. I often sat in the lobby with my laptop or iPad and overhead them dealing with enquiries from other residents - often simple things that are immediately available on the internet or in a leaflet. The staff were patient in the extreme, and added value to their responses. The comfort, cleanliness and facilities are praised in many other reviews, as is the excellent breakfast for only 8 Euros, so I shall simply endorse those positive comments. All in all, staying at the Circus was a treat!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one! Don't complain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have just returned from a three night break to Berlin and are so happy we chose to stay at Circus. Everything was perfect, the staff are all so friendly and informative - they recommended the best places to go at night that weren't touristy and we'd never have known to visit otherwise. The room was a perfect size and spotlessly clean. The restaurant was really good and a really chilled atmosphere. Location is perfect, surrounded by cool bars, shops and restaurants and opposite the U-Bahn so easy to get everywhere in Berlin. I'd never stay anywhere else when I travelled to Berlin, Circus is the best!

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room that doesn't face the street as the road is quite loud so we couldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

My only memory i will take away from this hotel is the noise. The street outside has to be the noisiest in Berlin. The lack of aircon meant we had to sleep with the windows open and that was a disaster - I live in London so am used to noise but this is something else. We asked to move but the hotel was full so we got earplugs instead.
Our room was also dirty - on requesting another room I also had to ask them to clean the floor as it was VERY dusty which was higlighted when we walked into the bathroom and it came off onto the floor!
There is nothing 'exceptional' about this hotel and I'm surprised it is number 1 on trip advisor! Staff are as I would expect (had better in Madrid) hotel location is ok, breakfast is adequate but quite expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I booked the hotel on the day before arrivingin Berlin, the reception had very good manners and all personnel were very warm and helpful,
the rooms were large and spacious and i think this hotel desreves at least 4 stars,
very clean great service, great location and... made The Circus the hotel i will never forget.

thanks to the circus team.

Room Tip: apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I can only subscribe to the most favorable reviews this structure is receiving. The (relatively) lively neighborhood, the subway station right at the hotel door, the gorgeous buffet-type breakfast for a modest supplement of price, the supreme kindness-cum-competence of the cheerful young staff. Just in order to dispel what could sound as an excessive enthusiasm, here I mention the two weak points I am able to collect: in my room no light switch was directly accessible without getting off the bed, and the wi-fi signal was weak - but then, in the lobby several laptops and even an iPad are available for free.

Room Tip: For silence: high floor, room facing courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Located at the center of the center of berlin. The cleanest hotel I've ever been too. Felt like a new hotel and we are the first guests.
Great service by the nice staff. Every request of us has been answered with a smile. The staff has also given us helpful tips about the city.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#13 Family Hotel in Berlin
#34 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Circus Guest,We are looking forward to welcome you to the Circus Hotel, bringing to you 60 single and double rooms, junior suites and apartments with all facilities.Opened October 30th, 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services to make your stay truly special, including iPods’ loaded with the best of Berlin music, bike and segway rental, and a garden courtyard that provides the perfect place to relax, unwind, and reflect on your Berlin experiences. Of course we provide free Wi-Fi troughout the building.Added to this, at our restaurant Fabisch you can discover a modern and healthy approach to German cooking, sip cocktails in the manner of Sally Bowles, and enjoy a range of artistic and cultural events that reflect the nature of our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Budget Places, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Circus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.