We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pefect for those who like "cozy"!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Circus Hotel to your Saves list
The Circus Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pefect for those who like "cozy"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

For those un-obese Americans, this is a great stay! It is in the heart of Berlin, very nice reception (I'm a girl and the lady receptionists were super hot! :) The rooms are small, as are all European budget stays, so either do your homework before griping. There was even adequate space to hold our two weeks of belongings as we were backpacking, and a friend from Netherlands came to stay and all three of us slept quite soundly in the bed. The breakfast is a deal for 8 euro, other places we stayed wanted to charge up to 23 for a much more mediocre breakfast! It had fresh fruits, tons of breads, several meats (mostly salami sorts), jams, cheeses, granolas, oatmeals and lots of other stuff for the price. Be sure to tip the waiter though! Even though its a buffet, they are always answering questions from travelers everthing from- "where is the coffee, and the way to get to "there"? They see you with a map and they will ask if you need help. Tip them! The place is cute and quaint - only for "large families - and I'm talking number and/or weight" you should request and pay for one of their larger rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    373
    56
    7
    1
See reviews for
207
1,061
133
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Simply cannot fault it. I really like the theme of the room and the organic breakfast. The staff are very helpful. The room fixtures are great.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Travelled to Berlin in February with my two friends and my 2 year old daughter. The Circus Hotel was the perfect choice. Great location, lots of lovely restaurants and shops nearby. Hotel itself is fantastic - decor is really funky with an individual design for each room. Spotlessly clean. Staff were really helpful. Food was great. Child friendly.Great value for money. A must if in Berlin. Couldnt recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

A few of the other reviewers have pointed out that the rooms are quite small. Here's a tip. Book a junior suite and you basically get a room that's double the size of a standard one for only 10 Euros more a night. A junior suite is 100 Euros and a standard double is 90. Good value for the extra space and we could see a few of the smaller rooms when the doors were open being serviced. We stayed for 8 nights so we really appreciated the extra space.

Don't expect a luxurious hotel as it's not, but it's more than adequate. They have a very clear ethos about what a traveller requires and what they don't, and to be honest, they are close to being spot on in my opinion. I love the guide that they have on their website created by the knowledge of the area by all the members of their staff. This guide is what made me decide to stay here. It's clear the lengths they go to, to really engage in what they are doing with their business and not just provide a bed and clean your room.

Most of the staff are very friendly and all are very helpful and will always engage with you properly when you have questions. They don't answer questions like they are reading a script, they clearly enjoy their jobs and helping guests have a good time in Berlin.

This is what creates such a nice feeling about the place. In the room is a printed copy of the Circus Guide where they explain more about the concept of the hotel and how they integrate with their neighbours. For example, they always use local small owner operated businesses for all their needs at the hotel which helps support the area. I really thought this was great.

I am aware that many travellers may not need to know all this, but their ethics have a sound footing which I believe must go a long way to help motivate the staff to be so helpful with the guests. The hotel loaned me a parking permit free of charge so that I could park my car just round the corner for the whole stay. I think you would struggle to find a more rewarding place to stay in Berlin in the same price range. I think they should put shower gel and shampoo in the rooms though rather than behind the reception desk. Isabelle was our favourite receptionist, just so nice and can't help you enough!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

This is my favorite Hotel. Period. (but I have to write more as tripadvisor requires us to input at least 50 characters in the review).
So,
Fantastic, unique concept.
Extremely friendly and helpful hosts.
Cool atmosphere.
Great Café/Resto.
Great Europen organic breakfast.
Extremely friendly and helpful hosts.
Extremely friendly and helpful hosts.
Extremely friendly and helpful hosts. ;-)

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

What a lovely atmosphere, great rooms, friendly staff, the perfect hotel, will def go back

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

From booking right through to checking out we had a great experience. The information on the website is great and the website is easy to use. The directions to get there were really helpful as were the online walking guides.
On arrival we were instantly made very welcome. As we were early we took coffee in the restaurant and when our room was ready someone came to find us and our bags had already been taken up.
The room was really lovely - stylish, clean and quiet.
Good choices for breakfast and the waiting staff were really pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Berlin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#30 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Circus Guest,We are looking forward to welcome you to the Circus Hotel, bringing to you 60 single and double rooms, junior suites and apartments with all facilities.Opened October 30th, 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services to make your stay truly special, including iPods’ loaded with the best of Berlin music, bike and segway rental, and a garden courtyard that provides the perfect place to relax, unwind, and reflect on your Berlin experiences. Of course we provide free Wi-Fi troughout the building.Added to this, at our restaurant Fabisch you can discover a modern and healthy approach to German cooking, sip cocktails in the manner of Sally Bowles, and enjoy a range of artistic and cultural events that reflect the nature of our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Circus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.