We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable and well-placed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt to your Saves list
Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlottenstrasse 66, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #279 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very comfortable and well-placed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My room in this Winters Hotel was spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable and furnished extremely sensibly. There was a sofa and chair to relax in, a kettle, a fridge, a safe, free Wifi (via cable), a very comfortable bed and a bath (with shower). Breakfast was good, with plenty of fresh and cooked dishes on offer. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is a supermarket just around the corner, and plenty of restaurants nearby. My only complaint would be that the shower was very oddly fitted so that it sprayed almost straight ahead - very strange. Apart from that, no complaints from me - and the front desk staff were very helpful too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    242
    97
    26
    14
See reviews for
59
209
33
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munchen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I used to work in Hotel industry for 20 years and never seen travellin a reception staff so terrible.
Asked for a manicure and the best answer was " Please go on the street and look for it, I am sure you will find it somewhere" asked for a nice restaurant with music and they sent me in an area where the oldest were around 25 years old. and was far away from the hotel. The day after we discovered by our selves that just around the corner were full of nice restaurants and Bar.
Anytime you go there to ask something they are always sitting behind a mirror and they look at you almost angry cos they have to stand up from the chair. they never smile at you.
The only nice persone we met there is Mareike (hope I wrote well the name) that unfortunately was on duty only the last day. Since we got inside she said hello to us with a nice smile and was very helpful. Apart she was not sitting at all!!!
Apart the reception staff I can say that maid service is verygood. The rooms are cleans.. But thats all. If you dont have any need and you have your days already planned is in a good area.
Also be aware to get a room looking on the court cos if youa re facing on the street the windows are not soundproof and seems to sleep in the middle of the street

Room Tip: facing on the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and ended up with a good impression of it. The location is very central and all sight-seeing sites are a walking distance away. It's easy to get to the hotel from the airport by train (if you don't mind walking through the contraction site in the middle of the city).
Rooms are tiny but clean and newly renovated. Design is in a cold grey colour, but you don't pay attention to it if you're touring the city the whole day. Staff is generally super friendly and helpful. There are tons of shops, cafe and restaurants around, also a supermarket is around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were very clean but quite basic, wifi was very poor even in reception, location however was excellent for most main attractions.fine for a weekend if you are not bothered about free wifi , supermarket around the corner open till midnight except Sundays. U Bahn station nearby

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zejtun, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A very good hotel located in the heart of Berlin. We visited Berlin for 4 nights in December 2012, with the main aim to enjoy the German Christmas and especially the Christmas Markets. Gendarmenmarkt is a very nice area with Christmas market open till 10pm and with center of attractions easily reachable. The hotel in itself is very nice, with modern furniture. We really liked the ensuite and the shower which was very easy and accessible to use. The lift is very modern, compared to the lift we found when we were in another hotel in Munich, back in 2004. The room was very clean and the maids leave it in great order. We did not take neither breakfast, nor any other supplement so we cannot comment on the food served. All in all we recommend this hotel and congratulate the staff for the service given.

Room Tip: Superior Room is great
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The wifi only works in the lobby and the Iraq floor. There is Ethernet cables in the rooms with free Internet, but you would need to have a computer. One of the ladies at the check-in counter was not very helpful. We checked in on Christmas Eve, and she was vague and unhelpful about finding restaurants or a shop that might be open to get water. It IS a good value in terms of price and location. The breakfast seems like a rip off for a buffet costing 14 euro. It didn't seem quite like 4 star. It would have been nice to have coffee/tea making capability in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We came to Berlin for 4 days for a cheap winter getaway. We got the hotel at a steal and were very happy with our hotel choice when we arrived.

We arrived earlier than expected, but our room was ready for us already. The staff were all lovely, our room was a nice size, as was the bathroom and both very clean. The hotel is also in a fantastic location, with Gendarmenmarkt Square about 5 minutes walk away, Brandenburg Gate and the Holocaust Memorial etc being about a 20 minute walk away and a tube stop right on the corner. The underground station nearest the hotel is Stadtmitte, which is also only a few stops away (on the same line too) from Alexander Platz and Potsdamer Platz.

We couldn't be happier with our hotel and would definitely stay here again. Great value for money. We didn't have breakfast however - €14 per person, per day, we thought that was a bit steep! However, there are lots of bakeries and cafes near by which do great breakfasts or a supermarket round the corner which serves fresh croissants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt

Address: Charlottenstrasse 66, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nowhere is the idea of "centre" more versatile than in Berlin. Around the Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt, history and future create an international everyday lifestyle. A place where magnificent historic buildings and boulevards, religious and national landmarks, monumental palaces, culture and major visionary architectural projects meet. All functionally designed 134 guestrooms in different categories are equiped with Flatscreec-TVs, air condition and complimentary WiFi. The hotel offers a various breakfast buffet in the stylish breakfast restaurant which offers a great view to the pulsating Leipziger Strasse through its panorama windows. Attractions as Checkpoint Charlie, the elegant shopping street Friedrichstrasse or Boulevard Unter den Linden are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winters Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Berlin Winters Gendarmenmarkt Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.