We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Lovely clean hotel but don't bother with breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt to your Saves list
Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlottenstrasse 66, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Location. Lovely clean hotel but don't bother with breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here in November and found it was a great location to explore Berlin from. The rooms were modern and very clean and the staff were helpful and friendly.
The only downside was breakfast - the restaurant was very clean and you could help yourselves to as much as you wanted but there was not much choice on the hot cooked breakfast and not much variety of pastries or croissants. That said, the bread was very fresh and plentiful. You would get much better value for money though at one of the nearby cafes.
For the amount we paid it was great value for money and we would stay again for the location of this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    243
    97
    26
    14
See reviews for
59
209
33
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Have stayed in this part of Berlin before so I knew that it was the perfect choice for my family and I to enjoy lots of tourist stuff as well as the markets. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Did not have breakfast at the hotel, there was a lovely cafe two minutes from the hotel, where food was cheap and tasty. Practical stuff, of which there is never enough, in reviews.
Take the s bahn from the airport to friedrichstrasse. (3.2 euros). Five minutes walk across unter den linden, turn left, next left is charlottenstrasse and the hotel.
There is a supermarket one minute from the hotel - turn right out of the hotel, right again and there it is. It is open 24/7! Hope all this is helpful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights recently. Its a good little hotel, nicely decorated and very clean. Its in a great location, right next to Gendarmenmarkt and handy for the major sights and the Stadtmitte U-Bahn station.

A couple of negatives, we didn't have breakfast included and it would have cost 14 Euros each to have it which is excessive. The bar is also a little expensive too. Wifi only extends to the reception area, not to the rooms as well.

It seemed more like a good 3 star hotel than a four star hotel though.

Overall a good hotel, and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, we were 6 ladies sharing 2 rooms. The rooms were suites where the sofa turned into a double bed. The beds were very comfy the rooms were a little small but we managed by keeping tidy. Lovely large bathroom with complimentary toileteries the towels could have been a fair bit bigger. In the bedroom we had a tea tray with teas and coffee sachets
We had breakfast here every morning as there was loads of choice to eat and drink we felt it was worth the 14 euros. Checking in was quick and easy and all the questions we asked ie directions etc were answered polity and efficiently.
Accross the road was the christmas market selling food,drink and plenty of festive gifts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

POSITIVE: Very friendly staff. Great location. Middle of Mitte and Alexanderplatz- both walking distance 15-20mins. Restaurants are very close by- all walking distance 2-5minutes. Room location is very quiet- we always got a very goodnight sleep. Double bed is amazing- very spacious. Bathroom clean and new towels given when requested. WIRED INTERNET worked very well inside room.

NEGATIVE: WIFI only available in lobby. Not much powerpoints in the room apart from the bathroom. Expensive buffet breakfast. Better to just buy outside hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked the hotel for its price and location. We had a twin room and a junior suite. We each paid 35 euros per night. The twin room was small with the bathroom in the room with frosted glass for modesty. We knew this before we arrived so it was not a problem. Even though small the room was perfectly adequate as we spent very little time there. The junior suite had a very large bed and a sofa made into a bed. Tea and coffee facilities and a seperate bathroom, bath with shower over. Great space, fantastically clean and very modern. The rooms were so quiet it was amazing. Nice pictures on the walls which when you look closely are actually stickers! very clever. Highly recommended. We spent 4 days and did not use public transport at all as everywhere is walkable. We had breakfast along the road at a place called eleven which was fab. Staff were so helpful and friendly could not have asked for more :0)

Room Tip: have a junior suite if you can the tea and coffee was a surprise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is situated on a beautiful square, easy walk to Unter Den Linden, Brandenburg Gate, Reichstadt ,Holocaust Memorial,Potsdammer Platz, Berliner Dom, DDR Museum and many more sights. Our twin room was small and compact with open plan shower but seperate toilet. You would need to know the person you were sharing with well. Had a peek at the double rooms which were more spacious. Spotlessly clean, great friendly staff, breakfast was included in my rate and it was served in a large spacious modern dining room. Fruits, cereals, yogourts, bread, rolls, continental savoury and sweet choices plus cooked eggs, bacon sausages, chicken and vegetables. Even had pancakes!
All staff were very helpful and friendly. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a practical centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt

Address: Charlottenstrasse 66, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nowhere is the idea of "centre" more versatile than in Berlin. Around the Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt, history and future create an international everyday lifestyle. A place where magnificent historic buildings and boulevards, religious and national landmarks, monumental palaces, culture and major visionary architectural projects meet. All functionally designed 134 guestrooms in different categories are equiped with Flatscreec-TVs, air condition and complimentary WiFi. The hotel offers a various breakfast buffet in the stylish breakfast restaurant which offers a great view to the pulsating Leipziger Strasse through its panorama windows. Attractions as Checkpoint Charlie, the elegant shopping street Friedrichstrasse or Boulevard Unter den Linden are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winters Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Berlin Winters Gendarmenmarkt Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte Am Gendarmenmarkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.