We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arcotel John F

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arcotel John F to your Saves list
Arcotel John F
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I booked this hotel on Agoda and it was a very reasonable price for a one night stay. The service from the front desk was very good and I was particularly pleased that they let me into my room at 9am on the day I checked in. This is of course highly a matter of availability but it is great that the policy allows them to do it when the room is ready.

There is a small gym with a bike, and a couple of treadmills as well as a wellness area with three different types of sauna. The hotel is located fairly centrally, just outside of the main attractions and it is an easy walk to anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear guest, We would like to use the opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor. It was with great pleasure that we learnt,that you enjoyed staying at the ARCOTEL John F. It is always a nice feeling to hear that our services were convincing and that our guest leave us with plenty of good impressions. It would be our pleaseure ti have you revisiting us in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Your team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    354
    56
    8
    11
See reviews for
102
432
44
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
billyboy252
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We took a short break in Berlin after planning our itinary, all our planning went to pot when we arrived. it was cold,seriously cold,we grabbed a taxi and made our way to the hotel an unimpressive looking rather drab building, because of the snow and the building work everything looked drab.the hotel staff were very welcoming and formalities over we were soon in our room,which was very pleasant.the staff throughout our time were extremely helpful and friendly.the atmosphere very relaxed.we visited lots and lots of attraction all the touristy bits plus some. the big red bus stopped directly outside our hotel and for two of the days we used it none stop, we found the operators very knowledgable and helpful and provided you make full use of it very good value.we could not have picked a better situated hotel for our visit.initially I thought we would eat elsewhere,but finally decided to include breakfast ,this was a good move as there are few places to eat nearby, there are some and we did try them but personally I would stick with the hotel.Apart from being seriously cold there it was a good holiday.just go when its warmer.

Room Tip: Can only speak about our own room Zimmer 509 which was large clean and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback on your stay at the ARCOTEL John F. We are very glad to hear that you had a great time in Berlin despite of the wheather. It makes us very proud to hear that were satisfied with your stay in our hotel. Please be assured that we will pass on your positive comments to our staff. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back in Berlin.

Best regards from Berlin,

Your teamof the ARCOTEL John F

P.S. Temperatures are rising already
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel was perfect for our City Break. The staff were extremely helpful, accommodating and detail orientated. The room was beautiful and the location was excellent. We rented bikes for a day from the hotel and it was the perfect way to see the sights.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

After getting our bearings this hotel was situated in the best place for seeing all the things of interest. The city of Berlin is a wonderful historic place and the staff at the hotel were very helpful, also our taxi driver from the airport which was about a 30 minute journey

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a short break at this hotel. We were very impressed with the hotel and very helpful and friendly staff. We upgraded to a quiet room at the back of the hotel for 20 Euros per night which allowed very early access when we arrived. We declined the special rate of 15 euros per person for breakfast and were very pleased with the alternative buffet in the bar at 7.50 per person. This option of juice,rolls,croissants and coffee seemed very popular and good value in nice surroundings.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and location is excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We hope you enjoyed your recent stay at the ARCOTEL John F and had a safe journey back home.

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment about your stay. We truly appreciate your Feedback in order to continuously improve our service and standards.

We are glad that or personal has left a good impression and it is a pleasure to read that we met your expectations in regards to the standards of the hotel.

Your comment is a great motivation to our team to keep up with the professionalism and service.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here for a long weekend with my Husband. I had booked through a 3rd Party company as i couldn't find the website in English - only German. I booked it based on the excellent reviews it received on Trip Advisor.
The reception and entrance to the hotel is very nice - but apart from location - i can only give it a 3*!
We arrived at midday (and had previously emailed the hotel to explain about an early check-in (and also that it was my husbands birthday) as we were flying on a very early flight.) Someone from reservations got back to me and said it would not be an issue for check-in. When we arrived we had to pay an extra 60E to get our room early - i tried explaining to the receptionist - who was very abrupt - but to no avail. She said if we paid the 60E we would get an upgrade also. I was tired and wanted to change so we accepted the added charge and got a room (419). If this was a superior room, i would not have like to see the comfort rooms!!
Room was quite small - with two single beds pushed together (i will never understand why they don't have doubles in europe) - walls where white (with lots of dirty black marks). There was a little kitchenette with a hob, sink and fridge. There were tea making facilities but no kettle - had to ring reception for a kettle. Also had to ring reception for an ironing board - which you had to give back immediately after use! Bathroom was also small (if you wanted a bathrobe and slippers - you had to ring reception)- with a shower and no bath - although the shower was excellent!
We had breakfast every morning of our stay and there was a good range of hot and cold food. I was surprised by this as i expected to just have cold buffet. Also had a range of drinks including champage for bellini's etc!
Location was ideal. 5mins walk to Museum Island in one direction and 10mins walk to Gendarmemarkt in another direction - so perfect for seeing all the sights.
Overall, the hotel was fine for what we needed it for but it is not a 4* hotel by any stretch!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your very detailed feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear about some problems you had to experience during your stay. Our guaranteed check in time is 3 p.m., as we have been fully booked there was no room available in your booked category. Only a superiour room was already vacant and ready for check in. The surcharge for a superior room is € 20,00 per day. We did not charge you for the early check, but the higher room category. On your next stay we would be more than happy to show you our other categories, so you could decide on check in what room size you would like to go for. We would be very grateful, if you could give us the chance to convince you of our qualities on your next stay.

Kind regards,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon before our tour was to begin on Monday. There was no one in the hotel restaurant but we were able to get a very good turkey sandwich which we split and a drink. Our room was small but adequate and comfortable with comfy beds. The bathroom was also small but had an amazing shower. The towels were great - large and thick. My only complaint would be that there was little room in the bathroom for two people and little room to store toiletries. Breakfasts were very good with a nice buffet. Location was good for walking to Museum Isle and Alexander Platz.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed staying at the ARCOTEL John F. Unfortunately we are not able to do anything about the bathroom size. Nevertheless we would be very happy to be able to welcoming you back, plainly to the fact that you were convinced by our service.

Kind regards,

Your team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arcotel John F? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel John F

Address: Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#33 Family Hotel in Berlin
#44 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#77 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel John F 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Arcotel John F reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel John f Berlin
Arcotel John f Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcotel John F, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.