We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arcotel John F

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arcotel John F to your Saves list
Arcotel John F
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located in Mitte for exploring East Berlin, although the streets immediately surrounding the hotel are extremely quiet. The hotel is clean, smart & stylish, the staff are multilingual and really do try to look after you well. The breakfast is fantastic. Recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you so much for your good feedback. We are very glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the ARCOTEL John F. It would be our pleasure to be able to welcoming you back in Berlin.

Kind regards,

Your team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    327
    50
    6
    11
See reviews for
97
398
43
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for 4 nights.Good hotel in a quiet safe environment. Nearest underground station 400metre walk from Hausvogeitplatz(which is on a direct line from Alexanderplatz) which is easily navigable to hotel. We had a room on the sixth floor overlooking a courtyard which was very quiet. The room was large with a king sized bed and two rocking chairs for some reason and was well maintained. Bathroom had a bath with shower attachment above the bath. We were on a room only basis but we were offered full breakfast at 15euro pppn or continental buffet at 7.50euro pppn which we opted for and is served in the bar. The breakfast seemed decent value and we probably could not have got any cheaper in any of the local cafes. Overall the hotel is in a good location handy for museums, restaurants( ask at reception for directions to restaurant locations, we found the staff quite helpful). If visiting Berlin again I will certainly use this hotel again as we found it good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guests,
We are very grateful for your kind feedback. It was a real pleasure to hear that you enjoyed staying at the ARCOTEL John F. Please come back in the very near future.

Your team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you would like to explore Berlin by foot, this hotel is highly recommended. It is just in the middle of everything, great cafes and shopping. The rooms were big for the great price I paid and very friendly staff and great interior!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your kind rating on TripAdvisor. Pleasw come back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Arcotel JohnF was perfect for a few days in Berlin. It is on the edge of Mitte, a short walk to shopping or across the Spree river towards Alexanderplatz.

The hotel is clean and modern. Our room was on the back and very quiet. The room was spacious and comfortable.

The gym is very small -- three cardio machines, two saunas and a steam room.

One negative was the breakfast -- 22 Euros for a modest buffet breakfast was a bit steep. After paying that once we went to the bakery around the corner the remaining mornings and paid 5 Euros for a light breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a good time at the ARCOTEL John F. We appreciate your feedback regarding our breakfast and will pass on the information to the relevant department. Nevertheless we are looking forward to your next visist in Berlin.

Kind regards,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Very lively hotel in a good location in Mitte close to museeuminsel nickolaiviertel and gendarmenmarkt and brandeburg gate
Close to underground too

Breakfast a bit expensive but very good

Good value overall

Helpful staff
Would recommend it to others

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our flight into Berlin had been delayed by a few hours, however the staff were very understanding and did not 'sell the room' as other reviewers have mentioned. However, our travel agent had made a mistake in thr number of rooms in an email - the confirmation we had recieved from them stated two rooms however the copy emailed to the hotel, which they printed for us, stated only one room. This was in no way the fault of the hotel and I only mention it to compliment the professionalism of the desk staff in dealing with the issue. As it was quite late, they offered us the room that had been booked and a vacant room on the floor above for the night. In the morning they offered us another room on the same floor but we decided to keep the rooms we already had to save moving our belongings.

The rooms are well above average - even the standard rooms that we stayed in. The decor is plesant and the custom rocking chairs compliment it further. The beds are very comfortable and I was not disturbed by any noise throughout the duration of the trip. Be aware that the in room minibar is not complimentary with the standard room as I first thought, however it is complimentary with the superior rooms.

The breakfast buffet at the restaurant has a wide selection of meat, cheese, sausage etc and generally moves quickly, and the restaurant has a peaceful atmosphere which is enjoyable. Staff seem eager for you to leave at the end of the serving which is understandable. On the final day a miscommunication led to us almost being charged for a breakfast for somebody elses room, which was quickly resolved at reception. We did not have dinner in the restaurant.

Front desk staff are happy to call a taxi for you if you wish and the hotel is within walking distance of most landmarks as other reviews have mentioned. At the end of our stay, the staff removed a percentage that I can't recall from our bill because of the issues at check in and held our bags for the day free of charge. Overall, I think that the level of service from the hotel far exceeded my expectations and I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside section of the building are generally quieter but those on higher floors fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for your very detailed feedback. As we are always trying to achieve maximum guest satisfaction, we are always grateful, when our guests do comment on their stay at the ARCOTEL John F. We can assure you that feedback is always past on and taken very serious, as we are trying to constantly improve our service. Once again we would like to thank you for your stay and would be very glad if we could be your host in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Your team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Glamorgan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for three nights in the Arcotel John F and found this to be a good all rounder. The location is spot on as it is a couple minutes walk from Museum Island and the numerous riverside cafes and restaurants. Furthermore it is well within easy walking distance to the other city centre sites. The hotels itself is spotless and well cared for. The room we had faced a quiet square away from the main street and well equipped. The only small issue I had was with the pillows as one was large and very squashy whilst the other, although firmer, was a small square. Saying that, I did sleep well as the beds were very comfy. There was a good choice at breakfast although the toaster was oddly placed as when using it you tended to hold up the other people queuing. The staff were very helpful and friendly especially when explaining how to get around the city and supplying us a map. Berlin is a fascinating city and I’m sure to I’ll return and would without hesitation book the Arcotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment about your rescent stay. We truly appreciate your Feedback in order to continuously improve our service and standards.

The entire ARCOTEL John F Team is very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is a pleasure to read that we met your expectations in regards to the standards of the hotel.
We are glad that our personnel have left a good impression. We take your comment of the pillows to our managers.

Your comment is a great motivation to our team to keep up with the professionalism and service.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Your ARCOTEL John F. Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arcotel John F? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel John F

Address: Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#26 Family Hotel in Berlin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#55 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel John F 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Arcotel John F reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel John f Berlin
Arcotel John f Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcotel John F, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.