We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cookies Cream

Cookies Cream
Behrenstrasse 55, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
0049 (0)30 27 49 29 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #205 of 5,953 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mitte
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I went back to Cookies Cream after my visit last year, and it was again a wonderful experience. The menu hadn't changed much - for a reason, it is really very good!
It is an expensive restaurant for Berlin, but it is definitely worth the price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    111
    26
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“portions too small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The food at this "cult-vegetaraian" place was good and esthetically served (no dispute about that), but the choice was limited and the portions were small. I did not tip because of that reason and the politeniss/kindness went down right away as they ushered me out. Be prepared to feel ripped off + don't be scared in the dark whilst getting there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasty food but leaves you feeling slight hard done by”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

It is a challenge to find the restaurant but what was worse was after being buzzed in you had to search for the actual dining area in dimly lit surroundings.

After finding the dining area which was the opposite of the building all decked out in white.

You are offered a fixed price menu with a few choices of starter, mains and desserts starters €11and mains were €22 or 3 course for €39.

Food was delicious what there was of it. I had a very nice slice of brioche with a quails egg, onion relish and hollandaise sauce. It was very good. Not a big portion but really nice. Main course was where I felt slightly hard done by I had 4 tiny parsnips, a splash of purée and to top it off a sprinkle of black quinoa it was very tasty, very rich and knowing that as soon as you had paid you would be looking for the nearest fast food restaurant.

It cost €100 euros for two for two course and no wine. We had a cocktail that wasn't great and served in small wine glasses. It wasn't great value for money.

Not great value but very tasty vegetarian food what there was of it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Crazy dingy alley entrance but worth the jangled nerves...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We never go to vegetarian restaurants and expected to be disappointed even though our friends recommended it highly...but, the food was very tasty, creative and they were most accommodating as there was little I could eat. Totally eclectic crowd, interesting decor and would encourage you to go, as it is memorable and different.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Wow. We took a very sceptical omnivore with us and even he was surprised at the exceptional quality of the food. You will get a good idea of what to expect from the other reviews, but I would simply add that it is a 'funky' restaurant in an intriguing location with a stunning menu.

Every component of the dishes is carefully prepared and matched and the result are dishes where every mouthful can be savoured. The wine list too, is excellent with reasonably priced selections from around the world.

Only negative thing was the quite unclean restrooms which surprised us given the rest of the experience.

Tips:
1. Book well head to guarantee a table at peak times. You can do this online.
2. Make sure you take the directions to the restaurant with you! It is well tucked away in back alleys and up loading docks(!), which while quirky and fun, could become frustrating if you can't find it!
3. The servings are what could be called nouvelle cuisine (i.e. small), so the 3 course menu is definitely the way to go.
4. You can view the current menu at the restaurants website.
5. Ask for a table near the window - there is more light.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cookies Cream also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Cookies Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cookies Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.