We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Berlin Vegetarian heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cookies Cream

Cookies Cream
Behrenstrasse 55, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
0049 (0)30 27 49 29 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #209 of 5,981 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mitte
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Berlin Vegetarian heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I guess we enjoyed Cookies because we went twice in 5 days!
The setting in a Mitte industrial Space adds to the pleasure... I won't tell more.
Interresting tasty well balanced Vegetarian cuisine with fun wine list... Friedrich Becker(not Boris!) Spatburgunder at fair prices and much more.a great buzzing place with cutting edge well executed original cuisine... Who said german gastronomie scene was boring?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    111
    27
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TLV
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food is excellent but be prepared to pay for it !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Firstly, it's a nice way to bypass selection to enter the club...
Secondly - very special veggie food , interesting menu, the food is served like creating art.
You will forget that the menu is veggie.
One may find it expensive, we thought that for 36 Euro ( 3 courses) it's a fair deal and worth the high standard .
See the pictures of the dumplings or the asparagus ... YAMI....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dont believe the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I notice that no menus are available on the web site and no prices are listed. No wine menu is featured and no wine prices.

I have been a vegetarian since the sixties when London only had a handful of restaurants. I appreciate the attempt to present vegetarian food in a new and experimental way and rid it of the sandals and lentils image.

In England we have enjoyed successful restaurants that do this .

Cookies Cream is just ridiculously expensive and does not convince.

As for the wine the price was a joke.

The mark up was obviously huge.

My wife and I were uncomfortable with the pretence .

Dont be taken in . It just shouldnt be so dear. Go to Brighton.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Vegetarian Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Down an alleyway, through a warehouse loading area, there is a door to a vegetarian paradise. Highly recommend. The venue itself is super stylish, in industrial, urban kind of way. If we had had more time I would love to have had a pre or post dinner drink in the bar. Overall I would describe this restaurant as a breath of fresh air in the genre of vego-vegan dining. We ordered the 3 course option. With the exception of the desserts(which were not terrible, merely uninspiring,), each course was excellent i.e innovative, using the freshest ingredients and very satisfying. We ordered a number of different wines by the glass. All were exceptional. The only let downs, beside the desserts were the espressos. Whilst espresso is very rarely good in Germany, this was particularly bad.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Veggie food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

When I booked our trip to Berlin I wasn't sure I would find a Veggie restaurant as I don't think the German's are know for the love of Veggies only. This place was a real find, very strange location but don't let this put you off. The food and wine were great and the staff very friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cookies Cream also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Cookies Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cookies Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.