We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ivbergs Hotel Berlin Messe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ivbergs Hotel Berlin Messe to your Saves list
Ivbergs Hotel Berlin Messe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heerstrasse 5, 14057 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a reasonably good hotel, very convenient for Tegel Airport (don't be tempted to take public transport from the Airport, take a taxi). Once there it is a convenient site in a lively area with convenient U-Bahn and bus links. The room was comfortable and quite spacious with a very good bed and excellent shower. Toilet is in a separate room to the shower which is quite useful. It was also relatively modern.

The main drawback of this hotel was the variable breakfast - while the cold selection was good, the hot selection changed every day, and was sometimes less appetising - bits of burger and veg on some days, bacon and sausage on others!

Generally a decent hotel though and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    53
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
55
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with two other couples. The hotel is not in the centre but has a U bahn very close so easily accessible. The hotel was very clean and the bedroom was well equipped and a fair size. We had a room facing the main street but as we were on the third floor we experienced very little noise. The staff could have been a bit friendlier but that is only a minor point. The breakfast was plentiful and very good value.There was plenty of everything and a good choice. We got this hotel for a great proce and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

we stayed here for one night before catching a very early flight out of Tegal airport, we read descriptions and mistakenly thinking hotel is close to the airport, and has its own shuttle to the airport, that's why we booked it; well not so; it's not far from airport, we ended up taking taxi, 18 euro. room is small compared to US standard, btw this was the end of our trip, by then, I finally learned this seems to be European standard. Hotel looks very dark, partly because all lights, including in hallways, are on motion sensor; all hallways are dark before entering, then one light goes up as you walk closer, kind of spooky; lighting in general is dim; shower stall has glass wall, not a fan of this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife booked the trip as a birthday treat, the last time we were in Germany was when the Berlin wall was still in use and we didnt visit Berlin from where we lived in Germany. We arrived at the hotel from the Schonefeld airport by using the very efficient transport system we highly recommend the purchase of the welcome to Berlin travel pass what excellent VFM. We bought the ABC pass for 72 hours and a day pass for the first day very helpfull staff at the airport where we purchased this. On arrival at the Hotel friendly staff quick check in and up to our room. The room was clean and perfect for our short break, the tv was not working we reported this and it was dealt with instantly the only english channels are CNN and BBC news. Near the hotel are plenty of shops cafes restaurants and fast food establishments, we made use of the prime kepab for an excellent currywurst and a local beer. Highly recommend the Block house for steak. Nearby our the U bahn and bus routes all efficient and easy to navigate. Big tip if you are visiting the Richestag pre book before you leave home you then dont que for access and its free to visit and very interesting the dome is amazing. The hotel breakfast must say was very good lots of choice my favourite was the scrambled eggs and the amazing fruchtquark with fresh fruit and nuts lovely coffee and orange juice bacon streaky variety and local suasage also available if u want this the warm bread rolls with cold meats and sliced cheese also nice different teas were also available have no ideaa why some people moaned about breakfasts in reviews. Only negative was when we booked we were informed that there was free wifi not a reason we booked but an added bonus on the third day it wasnt working when we asked reveption the desk attendant did not really know why the gree wifi had gone and informed us we would have to pay if we wanted to use the provider is telekom de they were not even sure of the prices we were not even informed of this change either. Apart from this we would stay again the location of the hotel was fine you are near to the Olympic Stadium a must visit cheap to enter and informative about the 1936 olympics and bus 218 for a trip to the botanical gardens and peacock island. The staff were polite and friendly and the hotel was clean and well kept and the price was very good we booked through easyjet.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed at the Ivbergs Berlin Messe hotel for the 2013 Berlin Marathon.

The hotel has a good location and offers nice and very clean rooms. Breakfast was reasonable, the staff friendly and accommodating.

We have paid EUR 110,00 for two nights and two persons, including breakfast, which was a real bargain. We would definitely stay there again on our next trip if the price is right.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I didn't expect to see a huge room but was pleasantly surprised by the decent size of the room. When we checked in, we had been awake (on and off) for almost 24 hours since we were coming from the States. I sort of agree with a previous review with regards to the staff. The only difference was that I didn't care if I bothered them. The way I see it, if you help me then I will leave you alone faster! Anyway, there is a steak house around the corner that was okay. I live in Texas and have high standards with regards to steak. There was also a currywurst place across the street from that. Public transportation is a must for this location though. I do wish we booked a hotel that was a bit closer to where the majority of the attractions were but I also enjoy taking a train for the people watching. There are 2 options of trains: 1 is about 1/2 mile south, I believe, and the other is across the street. (Make sure you download the rail app.)

The breakfast was a bit lacking though. We ate there only 1 time and after that we never came back for that. On the flip side, it was free so what do you expect, you know? The room didn't smell funny and was clean. We tried to leave a small tip for the cleaning person but when we returned from being out all day, it was still there. Don't expect to watch tv in english here, unless you want to watch CNN. Didn't bother me since we were out all day anyway. Overall, I would consider coming back here. Again, the only problem I found was the location but to me, that was not a big deal!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel could have been excellent if the breakfast selection was larger with more options. Breakfast was very limited and we did not find the food very enjoyable. However that is the only negative we found with the hotel, everything else was great. Our room was HUGE (room 408) twice the size I expected. [I'm not sure the other rooms were as big though?] The bed was comfy with a nice pillow and real duvet, instead of the itchy blankets you get in some places. The bathroom was nice and modern, great shower cubicle, even if the shower could have done with being a tad more powerful. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We also found this hotel in a convenient location to see all the berlin sights as it was very near a metro station. Another thing that was handy was that when we arrived on Sunday evening we had not yet eaten and after a day of travelling were quite hungry, there is a blockhouse less than a minutes walk from the hotel serving great food.

Room Tip: 408 was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivbergs Hotel Berlin Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivbergs Hotel Berlin Messe

Address: Heerstrasse 5, 14057 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivbergs Hotel Berlin Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ivbergs Hotel Berlin Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivbergs Hotel Berlin Messe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.