We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap, comfortable and clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshinehouse-Berlin

Sunshinehouse-Berlin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunshinehouse-Berlin to your Saves list
Sunshinehouse-Berlin
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Wexstrasse 8, 10825 Berlin, Germany (Schöneberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 182 Berlin B&B and Inns
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
“cheap, comfortable and clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed in Sunshinehouse with myboyfriend. The receptionists were nice, friendly and well English speakers. The room was quite big; but the fridge was very small and the oven was broken. The room and the bathroom were really clean and shiny. It is a bit far from the center; but it has a well-connected metro line. Supermarkets are near. They don't have double beds; if you are a couple, you need to put the beds together but it is not allowed-we did it anyway (: the most negative was the internet. We paid 5 euros for 24 hours and we could use it just 1 hour, then we lost the connection. However, it was really cool, i surely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

As far as budget accomodation goes, I cant fault this place at all. The staff were accomodating, its easy to get to on the transport network and lots of restaurants nearby. The only downside I could think of was that there was no free wireless internet - but for the price I cant really complain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I like Sunshinehouse hostel as much as possible.
Always whene I am in Berlin I stay there and I am really satisfied. Everything is clean, rooms are comfortable and stuff is very nice.
And all that for 19 Euro per night.
I think this is the best choice for young people in Berlin

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Nice Hostel, Close to Innbrucker Platz station, where there also is a supermarket (LIDL, very cheap). Good restaurants in the area.
Large rooms. Noisy waterpipes.
(no free wireless internet)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

I accompanied a group of teenagers on a trip to Berlin. For three nights in this hostel I slept just a few hours. The kids were not the problem, but the rooms were. The floor was squeaking and every sound was amplified in an interesting but tiring way. When the kids on the floor above were tiptoeing it sounded like they were about to wreck the whole place. On top of it the light outdoors was lit every time someone was passing and the blinds couldn’t stop the light from finding its way to my bed. And when someone was walking in the outdoor staircase, the metal was making its own annoying sound.

It didn’t improve when a bunch of other teenagers were partying all night long.

What’s good? Well, the people working there were nice and the place was clean. The breakfast wasn’t impressvie but it worked. It is easy to go downtown by S- or U-bahn. The park nearby is nice (and you can visit the site where Kennedy said he was a Berliner). If you want to prepare your own meals there are two grocery shops in the neighbourhood. There are also some restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshinehouse-Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshinehouse-Berlin

Address: Wexstrasse 8, 10825 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schöneberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshinehouse-Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Sunshinehouse-Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshinehouse-Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.