We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place: amazing cheap food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knofi

Knofi
Bergmannstr. 98, 10961 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
+ 49 30 - 694 58 07
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,235 of 6,046 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place: amazing cheap food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just amazing place where spend a dinner both with your boyfriend and with friends. Romentic and casual at the same time, the service is courteus and fast. About the food, everything we tried is very good. We had a mixed plate (sultan plate) with lots of different flovours and gnammy apetizers. The crèpe with eggplant and cheese served with 3 sauces (spicy, hummus and zazizgy) was just the best chioce. We spent 24 euros for 2 main dishes, one apetizer, one coke, water, wine cafe and one dessert): very cheap.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    29
    8
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Probably the best Turkish food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Really nice restaurant with very tasty Turkish food. Fingerfood, whole dishes and tajines. Everything is good and fresh. A must visit when you're in Kreuzberg.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food, nice Place, nice Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We discovered Knofi just by walking by, exploring Berlin Kreuzberg.
Kreuzberg was once the neighborhood with a not that good image, but now it is kind of a multi-cultural, eat-drink-party-relax-and-enjoy place.

So, Knofi is really nice. We sat outside, where they have some chairs an tables, so we could watch the streets and so on.

The service was really nice and the food was delicious.

Try the "Knofi Teller" (Knofi plate) and the "Sultan Teller" (Sultan plate).
We were a party of 4, ordered both plates and really had lots of food.
Maybe not as much as you would eat when you're alone, but really enough.

All the food seems to me hand-made and really tastes good.

Try the turkish Mocca. Kind of an Espresso for real men... ;-)

Prices are ok, we had
2 Plates
1 Couscous Salat
2 Beer
2 Applejuice
1 Mocca
and payed around 30€... what is really ok.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good quality but extremely rude waiter”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Knofi @ bergmanstrasse has got two outlets. One, with a focus on delicatessen sauces with some wines and products from south east Mediterranean region and the other (right opposite) with a a focus mainly on sweets. The quality on both outlets is generally good and there is big selection of sweet or salty products. However, the service is seriously jeopardizing the reputation of this place. A rude and unhelpful waiter managed not only to make us forget the admittedly good quality of the food but also to decide not to go back again. It's really a pity for the place to have such a poor service.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“What a great bustling place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

There are two Knofi restaurants across each other. After going into both, we have decided to have our dinner at Bermannstr. 11. The menu is more or less the same, but in this one they do on top Goessie, which is like paratha filled either with minced meat or vegetarian. It costs only 4.30EUR and tastes great and is sufficient meal for one. We have also shared Knofi Teller, which is selection of mediterrenean antipasti for 7 EUR. The total bill was 18 EUR which included half a litter of their house wine. We sat on the bar table watching the happenings on the street. Both restaurants are more like providori stores, small and bustling. There are few tables outside. We have really enjoyed our dinner.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knofi also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Knofi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knofi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.