We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pfefferbett apartments: Great location, Nice apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pfefferbett Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pfefferbett Hostel to your Saves list
Pfefferbett Hostel
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Christinenstrasse 18-19 | Am Pfefferberg, Hof 4, Haus 6, 10119 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 322 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Rotterdam
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pfefferbett apartments: Great location, Nice apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed for the second time in Pfefferbett apartments and because of the fact we had a great time last time at the attic we asked for it again, unfortunately we got one at the first floor. After a call we had to stay the first night here but the other nights we got an appartment at the attic.

The apartments are spacious, very clean and look very nice. The location is brilliant, it's around the corner of the Kulturbrauerei in Prenzlauerberg. You walk very easy to the little shops in Prenzlauerberg, Alte Schonhause, Mitte and even the Alexanderplatz.

If you're looking for a nice apartment at a nice location, this is a great one!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    55
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
35
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Myself and a group of my friends (6) booked together here for our New Years celebration, Us four girls were put together in the same room with the one couple next door. It was a bit tricky to find at first as it was hidden behind an old factory type site which was having work done on it. Luckily we were there in the Christmas break so no drills! But very cool once we got inside. Quite modern, nice layout, 24hr reception and more importantly bar... Very good location, the Serenfelderplatz tube stop was literally across the road which is just two stops from the centre 'Alexanderplatz' or just a 15 minute walk.

The room was spacious with comfy beds, very good security with swipe keys and lockers included in the room. Each of us were designated a locker number and only your key could open it - believe me, I tested it! - So I felt very comfortable leaving my camera and valuables safe and secure in my room.

Overall, the place had a good friendly atmosphere, played some cool alternative music, the buffet breakfast was very good and they give you a little marzipan pig with your coffee (nice touch for just 2€). Great place for backpackers, travellers aged 20's-40's, although I did meet one couple travelling with their mum who also liked the place. If you are planning on staying for longer than a few days I wouldn't advice here as there was NO kitchen facilities, and the bar food was OK (But don't get the Nachos - total rip off). Also there was a slight flood issue in the shower room as there was no drainage system in the centre of the shared shower room (individual cubicles) - suggest you use flipflops!

That said, my friends and I had a very enjoyable stay here, we ate out every day (definately try a Curry Wurst!), and had a friend visit us without any trouble, played the Ukelele and had a sing along without any complaint, very relaxed place, it was perfect for what we were after and I would recommend it to like minded people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Pfefferbett for 4 nights. It was just after New Years and there wasnt many other people staying there. This meant that the atmosphere was a bit dead, but except for that the place was great. The rooms are massive (we had the 6 bed dorm to ourself but even if it was full there was still lots of space). The lication is in a cool spot in East Berlin, near Alexanderplatz (10 mins walk) and across the road from ametrp station. Staff friendly, helpful and fun.
Cheap bar with good food, and decent brealfast for the price.
Good place to base yourself when in Berlin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed in an all female dorm with a friend at the end of September.

The hostel is a bit hard to find initially (though I did arrive at night which always complicates things), with it being in a courtyard there are a few different entrances, though once I had walked around in daylight I quickly got my bearings.

Pros;

- It is right next to the Senefelderplatz U-Bahn stop, only 2 stops from Alexanderplatz.

- It is very modern and has recently been renovated.

- The staff are very friendly and helpful, and there is lots of information in the form of leaflets.

- A continental breakfast is available until 11am at 5.50 EURO each which consists of meats, cheeses, bread, jams/spreads/ fruits, cereals and tea and coffee.

- It is in an area that has plenty of bars and restaurants.


Cons;

- Like the rest of the city, the courtyard the hostel is in is currently undergoing a lot of building work/renovation, which is noisy! However, the windows in the dorms are new and are double glazed so some noise is blocked.

- The hostel accepts large school groups and they spend all night running up and down the corridors shrieking-they also create a blockage in the lobby area. We were relieved when the first group left- then another one arrived the next morning!!

- Wifi only available in lobby

- Dorm we were in was reeeally small! Not much space to put your bags or move about, have definitely stayed in more spacious dorms. Fine for a few days but as we were staying for 7 nights it wasn't great.


All in all it was a good stay for a good price in a good area! Would maybe try one of the private rooms if staying again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hostel was in many ways good, I liked everything about it (staff, environment, etc) however it can be rather loud at night. I am quite use to hostel situations, so the in and out of people all night is not a problem..it's how loud the doors slam when every 10 minutes someone exists any door on your floor! It's also extremely hot in the summer..my windows did not open more than an inch or two so it was very stuffy. However, I did like the place and met great travelers there. Berlin is an awesome city, and the hostel is located in a quieter but not far place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed in one of the double rooms for a couple of nights. The room felt much more like a hotel room than that of a hostel - the only thing that didn't was the price!

'Double' bed was actually two singles pushed together which wasn't ideal - it was a choice of snuggle together in one of the singles, or risk disappearing down the gap in the middle onto the floor! Not sure if all the rooms are like this. Everything else about the room was spot on though.

The common room / bar area was also excellent. Good (and cheap) pool table, tasty breakfasts, very helpful staff, comfortable sofas and generous portions of spirits for that last nightcap before bed!

Location is also great - 15 minutes or so walk to the city and right opposite a u-bahn station.

Will stay again when I go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

OK, hard to get details off the hostel website about this gem. The hostel additionally offers apartment rooms that are a short 5-10 min walk from the Hostel. This is great as the apartments are a great price at approx $75 AUD per night and have ample room and outdoor space. This was excellent for us as we were travelling with a fair bit of luggage that needed to be spread out a bit.

Why would i stay here again.
24 hour reception at the hostel.
Excellent english speakers on hand.
Free wifi (however this only worked in the dining room).
Apartment 9 was on the top floor with a really cool deck, unfortunately it was a little cold so did not get much use.
Unbelievably good location >> ok most locations around Berlin are probably good in their own way, we loved the grunge feel of East Berlin and local cafes and restaurants.
Walking distance to everything and close to the train.

We loved Berlin and 5 days was not enough. 7 days would have been better as there are so many interesting sites, stories, and suburbs to visit.

Apartment or hostel Pfefferbett is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Check out the local surrounding suburbs, there is something interesting in all directions... this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pfefferbett Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pfefferbett Hostel

Address: Christinenstrasse 18-19 | Am Pfefferberg, Hof 4, Haus 6, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 322 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pfefferbett Hostel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re located in part of the Pfefferberg industrial monument. This former brewery, which was built in the mid-nineteenth century, is now a one-of-a-kind cultural centre. Here you can explore galleries, artist's studios, clubs and restaurants. Right on our doorstep!Our hostel has some impressive architecture. It combines nineteenth-century industrial architecture on the outside with stylish design on the inside. The lobby has brick-vaulted ceilings, organic forms, a huge light installation and an open fireplace.Our dorms have impressive brick-vaulted ceilings and each bed has its own locker, reading light and power socket. Our double and single rooms feature exclusively designed furniture plus TV and Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pfefferbett Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfefferbett Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pfefferbett Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.