We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great ambiance, friendly and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of muret la barba

muret la barba
Rosenthaler Strasse 61, 10119 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49-030-2809 7212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 5,953 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mitte
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great ambiance, friendly and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

we started just having a drink and a cold plate of meats/cheese and ended moving to dinner, which was delicious. So much so that we went back - recommended.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    36
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A winner each time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stopped in on our walk from the tube to our flat, hoping to buy a bottle of wine for dinner. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Then we saw plates of food brought to diners and we were sure we wanted to return for a meal asap. We did - twice! Each time we were quite pleased. A menu that was creative and changed daily; food combinations that were unusual and perfectly prepared. A serving staff who explained each dish and made helpful suggestions. Two desserts on offer, but both delicious and made in house.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Poor service really let it down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Food was good, but a bit bland/nothing special. Pasta was nice, tasted fresh, but the dish with the sausage lacked flavour, with too much pasta compared to ceps and sausage. Cheese board was bland, the cheese lacked personality, tasted like supermarket cheese. The honey was nice though.

The service was the let down. Not that it was actively impolite. When we were greeted, one menu was thrown down between us, and that's it. Rather than a wine list, you go to the bottles themselves on the sides of the room, which is nice in principle but awkward as it meant hovering over people. I asked the waitress to recommend something instead, and she just said 'red'. Then I asked a waiter for a knife, he initially said yes, but then asked if it was for the pasta, and so said no, which we were taken aback by. After eating we sat for 45 mins, with no ask if we wanted dessert, more drinks, nothing. We eventually just got up and headed to the till. We felt completely unnoticed our entire evening, really let the experience down, and the food wasn't nearly good enough to make up for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Italian restaurant in the heart if Mitte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My friend wanted to take me to this wonderful Italian restaurant In Berlin and after multiple tries she managed to get us a table for dinner.

Everything we have ordered was delicious and giant portions in my opinion.
The Fennel salad with grilled sardines was amazing and so was the seafood pasta dish we have ordered! The stuff very polite and knowledgeable, paired wines with our dishes which all were all delicious!!! All and all, I would highly recommend this Italian eatery and almost definitely will go back on my next visit to Berlin!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Italian Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were looking for a cozy lunch in the middle of a rainy day and the moment we stepped into this little spot was pure magic. The servants, the wine, the soup, the pasta - OMG the pasta! - and the dessert were nothing but perfect. Who'd have thought this Italian adventure would happen during a quick visit to Berlin...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed muret la barba also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to muret la barba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage muret la barba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.