We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be stripped of their Michelin star” 1 of 5 stars
Review of HARTMANNs Restaurant

HARTMANNs Restaurant
Fichtestr. 31, 10967 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
+49 (0)30 - 61 20 10 03
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #369 of 5,675 restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
SouthAfrica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Should be stripped of their Michelin star”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The staff were casual, abrupt, not interested in explaining items on the menu and most shocking could see no validity in being Michelin rated( This was from the manager!!)
As to the food it was mediocre at best.The sommelier has no understanding of what fumed or oaked meant with respect to white wine.
An altogether really dismal experience and comparable to fine dining at Mc Donalds

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    59
    19
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Girls weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

A fantastic restaurant, service attentive but not over the top, the food was outstanding with every course a taste sensation. Not cheap but excellent value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - quality food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful " taster " 7 course menue - small portions but each one full of flavour and looked fabulous on the plates . Each course was complimented with a small glass of wine - plenty of flavours
Really pleasant relaxed atmosphere .

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We made a reservation at this restaurant because it has one Michelin star. I admit that i verified before also the reviews from tripadvisor and even if the last ones were not very positive, I had trust - and i made the best choice.

The service was very good, and the meal was almost perfect. I consider it "almost" because the deserts were only good.

We tried a 5 and 6 courses menues, and the best ones were the lobster, the venison - was perfect cooked, but we didn't like so much the deserts. Were good, but not top like the rest of the meal.

I want to mention that the portions are not small (like i read in another review) - after 4 courses we were full. Also, if wou try from the menu the both venison courses you will get a normal one and the other one smaller.

So, i truly recommend this restaurant, it worths.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had one of the tasting menus at this restaurant and were not disappointed. The wine pairings were well-matched and focused on wines from Germany and Austria, which I enjoyed. The service was also good - not overly formal but I preferred this as it gave our meal a more laid back feel.

We went during the autumn and had a table next to the fire, so it was a cosy place to spend an evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HARTMANNs Restaurant also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany

Been to HARTMANNs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARTMANNs Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.