We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a theft” 2 of 5 stars
Review of HARTMANNs Restaurant - CLOSED

HARTMANNs Restaurant
Fichtestr. 31, 10967 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
+49 (0)30 - 61 20 10 03
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
home
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Almost a theft”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The restaurant is sitting in a rather quiet zone (I didn't find a busy area in Berlin anyway).
Portions are not abundant to be kind and service is very sloooooow.
Indeed you don't taste often flavors combined like this, but it's not worth the final bill (€ 60 per person for a 3 tiny courses menu). Deceiving

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    19
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Very good food and nice service, but odd seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Like the last reviewer Nigel_Pugh, we too thought that the food at Hartmanns was quite good, inventive, very well-prepared, and very appropriately seasonal with wild spring garlic, white asparagus, and tender lamb for a dinner in May. We ordered only a glass of their red, which would have benefited from a bit more airing. The service was also very attentive and polite. Our reason for the 4-star is based on the very odd seating, where we were placed in the smaller side room and where we were the only guests for a while, even though there were other available tables in the main rooms and where we could have been among other guests earlier in the evening ... We would never know if it was because we had revealed ourselves to be English-speaking through our earlier email correspondence ...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“3 and a half stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited Berlin for a long weekend and booked a Saturday night here in advance. Overall it was a good night. Food portions were a little small, but that didn't matter, as it was filling and good quality. I agree with a previous recent posting, if it wasn't full the place would be scarce. We were put in a back room with another couple. It was almost like eating in someone's lounge!
I checked the 35 euro bottle of wine on the Internet and it was a tenner. That was a bit cheeky. But overall it was a good night. The menu was limited and nothing I really fancied, but I did really enjoy what I chose. Can't give more than 3 and a half stars as I have given much better places 4

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Good food, nice people. Not excellent service but pleasant.
The greeting from the kitchen was foie gras. We really thout we would be over that. Such political incorrect dish and we were not even asked. It was the greeting. Really disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A special restaurant with exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We chose Hartmanns Restaurant because of past reviews and were not disappointed. From the welcome when we arrived to being seated set in motion an incredible evening. The menu offers tasting menus but we were able to mix and match items from both that option and the A La Carte selections. The portions were ample and the presentation was wonderful. Most important, the food was delicious. On top of it all, because we had mentioned two birthdays being celebrated, we received two little cakes with candles on beautifully decorated plates. This evening was truly special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HARTMANNs Restaurant also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARTMANNs Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.