We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 and a half stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HARTMANNs Restaurant

HARTMANNs Restaurant
Fichtestr. 31, 10967 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
+49 (0)30 - 61 20 10 03
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #303 of 5,492 restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“3 and a half stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited Berlin for a long weekend and booked a Saturday night here in advance. Overall it was a good night. Food portions were a little small, but that didn't matter, as it was filling and good quality. I agree with a previous recent posting, if it wasn't full the place would be scarce. We were put in a back room with another couple. It was almost like eating in someone's lounge!
I checked the 35 euro bottle of wine on the Internet and it was a tenner. That was a bit cheeky. But overall it was a good night. The menu was limited and nothing I really fancied, but I did really enjoy what I chose. Can't give more than 3 and a half stars as I have given much better places 4

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    59
    19
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Good food, nice people. Not excellent service but pleasant.
The greeting from the kitchen was foie gras. We really thout we would be over that. Such political incorrect dish and we were not even asked. It was the greeting. Really disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A special restaurant with exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We chose Hartmanns Restaurant because of past reviews and were not disappointed. From the welcome when we arrived to being seated set in motion an incredible evening. The menu offers tasting menus but we were able to mix and match items from both that option and the A La Carte selections. The portions were ample and the presentation was wonderful. Most important, the food was delicious. On top of it all, because we had mentioned two birthdays being celebrated, we received two little cakes with candles on beautifully decorated plates. This evening was truly special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“fancy food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

me and the wife ate here and really rated this place, made a nice change from the standard german fare, highly recommend this place, good idea to ring for a table at busy periods, we had to wait a bit

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfull!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went there in end of march. We really enjoyed our dinner at hartmanns. The atmosphere was relaxed with the fireplace in the back and the service was friendly and attentive. It was possible to differentiate the number of courses which suited us fine.

The food was really good. Everything was cooked to perfection and was innovative and precise. We particularly liked our fish dishes and the dessert.

All in all it was a very relaxed experience of a michelin restaurant - in a good way :).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed HARTMANNs Restaurant also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to HARTMANNs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARTMANNs Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.