We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special restaurant with exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HARTMANNs Restaurant - CLOSED

HARTMANNs Restaurant
Fichtestr. 31, 10967 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
+49 (0)30 - 61 20 10 03
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
Toronto
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A special restaurant with exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We chose Hartmanns Restaurant because of past reviews and were not disappointed. From the welcome when we arrived to being seated set in motion an incredible evening. The menu offers tasting menus but we were able to mix and match items from both that option and the A La Carte selections. The portions were ample and the presentation was wonderful. Most important, the food was delicious. On top of it all, because we had mentioned two birthdays being celebrated, we received two little cakes with candles on beautifully decorated plates. This evening was truly special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    19
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“fancy food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

me and the wife ate here and really rated this place, made a nice change from the standard german fare, highly recommend this place, good idea to ring for a table at busy periods, we had to wait a bit

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfull!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went there in end of march. We really enjoyed our dinner at hartmanns. The atmosphere was relaxed with the fireplace in the back and the service was friendly and attentive. It was possible to differentiate the number of courses which suited us fine.

The food was really good. Everything was cooked to perfection and was innovative and precise. We particularly liked our fish dishes and the dessert.

All in all it was a very relaxed experience of a michelin restaurant - in a good way :).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Met expectations and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We went because of the review in the New York Times. The restaurant was wonderful, as was the food. We had a 3-course and a 4-course tasting menu so that we could share the cheese course. They were cool with that, and they were also considerate about speaking German with me and English with my husband. We enjoyed a bottle of Badische chardonnay - so dry you could almost sense the chalkiness of the soil it grew in. We ate there on March 23. It wasn't cheap (180 Euros for two) but well worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Look no further!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful 3 days in Berlin in January and having read some reviews on TA I booked a table at Hartmanns for a Saturday night.
What a fantastic choice that was! We had the full tasting menu and I was so pleased we did. The food was excellent, a clearly excellent chef at the top of his game. From the amuse bouche onwards the timings and the taste of the dishes was near on perfection.
The service was excellent, the atmosphere informal, a thoughtful wine list. I doubt much could have been improved upon.
I have been to many lovely Michelin starred restaurants from 1 to 3 stars, and this was one of the most memorable meals had, money well spent.

Thanks to all at Hartmanns- I am seriously tempted to go back to Berlin just for dinner!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HARTMANNs Restaurant also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARTMANNs Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.