We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HARTMANNs Restaurant - CLOSED

HARTMANNs Restaurant
Fichtestr. 31, 10967 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
+49 (0)30 - 61 20 10 03
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
sussex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Look no further!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful 3 days in Berlin in January and having read some reviews on TA I booked a table at Hartmanns for a Saturday night.
What a fantastic choice that was! We had the full tasting menu and I was so pleased we did. The food was excellent, a clearly excellent chef at the top of his game. From the amuse bouche onwards the timings and the taste of the dishes was near on perfection.
The service was excellent, the atmosphere informal, a thoughtful wine list. I doubt much could have been improved upon.
I have been to many lovely Michelin starred restaurants from 1 to 3 stars, and this was one of the most memorable meals had, money well spent.

Thanks to all at Hartmanns- I am seriously tempted to go back to Berlin just for dinner!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    59
    19
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a cosy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This excellent small restaurant is deservedly well known in Berlin. The chef takes traditional German ingredients and dishes, and gives them a modern twist. I enjoyed the flexibility of the taster menu: you can choose how many courses you want, and which ones, and unlike many such menus you don't need to have exactly the same as the rest of the table. We had four courses, and each one was delicious: beautifully cooked, with great attention to detail. The friendly waiting staff are happy to recommend wine by the glass, and will suggest what they think goes well with each dish, and allow you to try it before making up your mind.

The atmosphere is cosy and down-to-earth: it's a simple style, and won't wow you with impressive decor, but equally it's not stuffy or pretentious, and you can easily relax. I would highly recommend coming here for a special dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

To be fair Hartmanns was a nice restaurant with pleasant and efficient staff. However the actual space was quite spartan and if it hadn't been for the fact that the place was full it would have lacked atmosphere. Surprisingly I found the food nice but not outstanding. It may be that the combinations the chef had chosen for the menu that day didn't do it for me and I'd rather have had two platefuls of food than several small plates where I was trying quite hard to experience all the clever flavours before I'd finished! I came away thinking I preferred the overall experience at our other restaurants in Berlin.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must go to for food lovers in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Lovely small restaurant in Krezburg well worth its Michelin star.

Probably seats about 30 diners at once. The whole experience was fantastic.

From entering the restaurant we were greeted by a lady who took our coats and seated us at our table. We were then offered a glass of champagne. You could choose from a degustation menu with or without paired wines or al la carte.

We choose the 4 course deguststation paired with wine a €110 per head.

Every course was amazing and paired with the perfect wine. Each course was explained in detail when it was served by the waitress. The Sommelier also explained the wine on each course, where it was from and what you would expect.

Great service!

This is a fantastic restaurant and if you love dining out and our in Berlin this must be on your to do list. Fantastic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“valentines day meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a delicious meal at this restaurant for valentines day, the waiting staff were polite and helpful. We really enjoyed the food and have put it at the top of our 'best meals ever' list!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HARTMANNs Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARTMANNs Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.