We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service, expensive food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chi Sing

Chi Sing
Rosenthaler Strasse 63, Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,867 of 5,953 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $28 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mitte
Berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Bad service, expensive food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had one night at this place. The place looks pretty nice but the food was a disappointment for the money we spent. Nearly 40 Euros for each person and the food was mediocre at best.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Choosen randomly because of its proximity to The B Flat Club dinner at Chi Sing was a very pleasurable way to begin the evening, beautiful surroundings in warner weather i imagine the outside space is great, tasty vietnamese food and great teas, not a bargain but no complaints.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pan-asian - skirting disaster”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was disappointed with the restaurant - maybe because the Lonely Planet guide made it sound good. Maybe it used to be better, but the food and service are really sub-par for the price. The atmosphere is overwrought and ends up feeling cold, and though I remember liking the meat that I ordered, it did not remind me of actual Vietnamese or Thai food. It is a strange approximation, like something that an immigrant's child might interpret. Also, it really reminded me of the late 90's.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My start came with great part of the mussels not cooked so closed. The plates are so small by the
size of the food that it is not nice to eat and the dishes were bad treated. By the price they ask, there is a lot of room for improvement.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Sublime modern Vietnamese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Chi Sing know what they are doing!
The decor is impeccable, the service super friendly and the food absolutely exquisite.
And all this for a very reasonable price.
They use great fresh ingredients in an innovative way to create a great dining experience.

We were delighted with our dinner at Chi Sing and would recommended it wholeheartedly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chi Sing also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Chi Sing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chi Sing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.