We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply cool...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pension Enzian

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Berlin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pension Enzian
Save Saved
You added Hotel Pension Enzian to your Saves list
Hortensienstr. 28, Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Vienna, Austria
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply cool...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I mean, there is somehow nothing too special about this place. But on the other hand it is all special. They do not have a pool or gym or a bar. However, it is a small, peaceful, quiet and extremely comfortable place. The room absolutely clean, incredibly... The bed was fine. I liked the green area a lot. Cool Spanish restaurant, bakery across the street. Good beer in the restaurant in the building (with a nice bar there). Breakfast very nice, served at the table. When you arrive the entrance is strange, but simple because they are on the 2nd floor. I arrived in the evening, the reception was closed but you get a precise description via email how to get the key within 2 minutes. The fastest check-in ever! You simply need your personal code to enter and that's it. Definitely coming back next year when seeing my family.

Room Tip: Wanna save a buck? Take a room WITHOUT toilet. Seriously. It was just next to the room, only for me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
17
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is right near an S bahn station that went straight into central Berlin or wherever you wanted to go in Berlin. Great neighborhood with lots of trees, shops and restaurants although none of the restaurants seemed to have traditional german food. It is great if you have a car as there is free street parking. Fantastic breakfast. I didn't like that they charged extra for wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

as promised find my recommendation for your hotel that I liked for stay in Berlin. I am thankful and enjoyed the stay. it was a good hotel and I recommend for tourists for trip in Berlin. In fact, the hotel is at a good location, because the city can be reached easily and the zone is quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurghada, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is on the 2nd floor of a building in a quiet, safe area of Berlin, very close to the Botanical Gardens, and opp the train station. There is a supermarket just downstairs, a bakery opp and several restaurants, Thai, Italian, Indian, tapas - all within walking distance. Rooms are a good size - some have a little noise from the trains which may affect you but only if you are a very light sleeper. All rooms have private bathroom and toilet but they are not necessarily en suite, ie they may be adjacent to your room which requires you to go into the corridor to get to them. So be sure to specify when you book. Rooms are pristinely clean. Breakfast was tasty, delicious fresh bread and the coffee was very good! Michael (the owner??) was very friendly and speaks excellent English so no communication problems! Wifi available at a small charge.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a little train noise and private but NOT ensuite bathroom - check when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

this is a good hotel for all visitors. It offers big comfort and is not costly - my search was for not expensive hotel in Berlin and I got a positive surprise from this hotel. It is not expensive but offers a good level of quality. I think it is a safe area of Berlin and with public transport you can get to the city quickly.It was renovated a few time ago, therefore, all walls and the floors were clean. For a visit to Berlin, which is a nice city close to Poland, you can go!

Room Tip: other floor than where the breakfast room is
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nice good central location, I have travelled to Brandenburger Tour in 15 minutes by suburban train (called S-Train). Super friendly and cool staff (friendliness and willingness to help). The stay couldn't have been more relaxed. A breakfast is served, coffee, choice of teas, perfect breakfast considering the price range of this spot. Speaking of "spot", rooms appeared spotlessly clean. room service every day. Shower was great and amenities were what I would expect from a nice family hotel - so there is no hotel chain stuff, but everything was fine. Being used to aircon, it was kind of a different feeling to open the window and get some fresh air from outside (calm green area). Nice choice of restaurants within walking distance although I decided to mate with other guys in the city centre most of the time. Perhaps I may stay again there - if I would return.

Room Tip: The area close to the breakfast rooms looks nicer, but maybe nosier because of the breakfast room tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in at the Hotel Pension for 3 nights in July. We had the very spacious family room. We really enjoyed the quiet neighborhood and the comfortable room. The hotel is located in a nice neighborhood near the botanical gardens. A market, bakery, and restaurant right nearby The hotel has easy access to the s-baun for an easy trip to downtown or out to Potsdam. We had a good experience in Berlin and really enjoyed our host Michael and the wonderful breakfast every morning. Overall, a great hotel in a great neighborhood!

Room Tip: The family room is quite spacious with a big couch and chair as well as beds for 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pension Enzian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Enzian

Address: Hortensienstr. 28, Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Hotel-Pension Enzian welcomes you to Berlin’s Steglitz district, a less trafficked area which is close to the famous Botanical Garden. The hotel is well within an easy commute to the center of Berlin - whether your destination is Friedrichstrasse, Gendarmenmarkt, Potsdamer Platz or Brandenburg Gate, 15 minutes on the city train is all it takes to get to where you want to go. The hotel itself, a more traditional bed-and-breakfast, has been serving international visitors for more than 50 years. Recent renovations have modernized the amenities to match the needs of current travelers, whether they are here for business or tourism (or both!). The hotel is located in a residential area that is both safe and historically interesting. Many restaurants are just a short walk away; the building itself has both a bar and restaurant for our guests’ convenience. A modern shopping destination is only one S-Bahn station away. The Enzian is able to offer the special ambiance of an elegant yet cozy family hotel which allows its guests to relax and to escape the bustle of the city proper. Enjoy comfortable modern rooms and a home-cooked breakfast, served to you by a friendly and helpful multilingual personnel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pension Enzian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.