We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nu

Nu
Schluterstrasse 55, 10629 Berlin, Germany
+49 30 88709811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #185 of 5,644 restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $0 - $63
Cuisines: Asian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: welcome to NU It doesn`t matter if you`re a nuclear physics Nobel prize winner, nutrition company CEO, news anchorman or an nudist camp leader. As long as you´re here for some of the finest pan asian dishes in town, you´re allright! Get to know our really good asian food and maybe get to know some of your table partners. They might be doing something interesting as well……
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My Favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I come here all the time! This place is great: amazing food, good service! Maybe a little pricy! Just one thing I prefer to come here in the summer and sit outside, because inside it can get really crowded and loud!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    82
    52
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very busy environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We decided on Nu for a special evening with my girlfriend and it was overall quite nice. The main problem was that they only have 3 tables for couples (2 person) and the rest are huge long tables where everyone sits next to each other. This leaves little room for privacy and depending on how full the restaurant is (Which in this case it was REALLY full) very little elbow room. Besides that, the Maitre'D was very accommodating and gave us a complimentary beverage for the inconvenience, and withing about 30 minutes we had a corner of a large table to ourselves.

The starters were amazing, although be warned that they are VERY large. I was thinking this was asian "Dim Sum" style with small portions however the starters are about 3/4 the size of a main. The food was delicious, coconuts fried shrimp with a selection of sauces, thai wraps, and delicious soup. The desert menu left a little to be desired however overall, highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good pan asian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Arrived on a Saturday night with no booking but were fitted in. Food is excellent and a good choice. Seating is at large shared tables and it feels very crowded and bustling. There is a good atmosphere. This is the second time we have eaten here and were not disappointed. It is probably worth booking to ensure a table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Popular, but disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Arrived to a half-full restaurant with the air of fat and cooking smells from the kitchen. As a result of which my clothes stank afterwards. Received by a surly waiter. Despite a table reservation, we had to wait 20 minutes for it?!? Entrée was promising, but my main was disappointing. Loud, with unnecessary background music. We all couldn't believe why the place is popular. Perhaps we picked a bad night? Hopefully.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Asian fusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Looking at it from the street, you wonder what on earth you were thinking when you decided to visit.
The moment you step through the heavy drape (!!!) in the entrance, everything changes for the better.
Great welcome by smiling staff, helpful & very efficient waiters, a bartender with great cocktail mixing skills.
Food is excellent, both in taste but also in quantity.
Maybe Tom Yam was not really true Thai Tom Yam but it tasted great and was spicy enough.
We're not big fans of the whole communal tables concept but it didn't seem to bother most of the other patrons and since we had a reservation, we got a separate table for two.
If you enjoy spicy Asian food - a mix between Thai, Vietnamese, etc. - then you will enjoy it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nu also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Nu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.