We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of kindness at the front desk” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel am Spittelmarkt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel am Spittelmarkt to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel am Spittelmarkt
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Neue Grunstrasse 28, 10179 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #159 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lucca, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lack of kindness at the front desk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for four nights last weekend and I have to say that until check out I was completely satisfied of it. But at the reception in the morning I found a girl who forgot that kindness with the guest is one of the main qualities that somebody working at the front desk should have. I don't know if it was her fault or of the lack of training that she received from the management but I have to say that I felt very uncomfortable talking with her. She was impolite and ungracious.
Moreover she first asked me to pay the total amount of the bill and only after my payment she gave me the receipt with all the details . I don't think this procedure was correct.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    526
    146
    33
    9
See reviews for
111
431
81
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean and nice. Personnel is polite & efficient.
The area spittelmarkt by itself is rather boring, but the hotel is only 2 minutes from the subway, by which you can get directly to alexanderplatz or potsdamerplatz in just few minutes.
We didn't take the overpriced breakfast from the hotel, but went to the delicious bakery/cafe "thürmann", which is located right next to the subway entry.
We had a 3-for-2 nights offer, which made the price per night incredibly good.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked this hotel for a 4 night stay in Berlin following the favourable reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel is only minutes from the Spittelmarkt U-Bahn station which makes it really convenient for the main tourist attractions and because it's in a quiet area there was very little outside noise when we were there. Our room was on the 5th floor in the annexe and it was large, clean and comfortable with all of the usual amenities, phone, safe etc. There is no fridge or tea/coffee making facilities but coffee is available from reception all day. There is free WiFi throughout the hotel and unlike one of the recent reviews we found this to be excellent, so much so that as we approached the hotel our smartphones both connected! Breakfast was busy and there can be queues at busy times. Food was very good, plentiful and fresh with a huge range of cold items and some basic hot options too. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we were very pleased with this hotel and would book here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Myself and my husband just returned from Berlin 6-10 October, and stayed in the Best Western Hotel am spittelmarkt. This hotel was all we needed for our stay, its so handy for the U-Bahn station, about 1 minutes walk, and the walk into Alexanderplatz is only about 15 minutes. The hotel itself is very clean, and the rooms are simple but more than adequate. I was able to get wifi in my room for free (room 307) and all the staff at the reception were very helpful to us.
Our room was cleaned daily, and towels changed, and the shower was excellent. My only small gripe is that the beds were very soft, and I found it quite difficult to get comfy at night. The rooms were very warm and had ample heating.
We did not take breakfast in the hotel, instead as advised on Trip advisor, on leaving the hotel there are 2 bakeries on the street across from the front door,and a third on the corner beside the U-bahn. We tried them all, and were very happy with the food there.
We will definately use this hotel again if we are back in Berlin, we had a great holiday, and the hotel was perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: Room 307 had great access to wifi service
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of days. It's located very close to Spittelmarkt U-bahn stop, that made it really easy to move around. However, the internet connection in this hotel is just laughable! There were a few rainy days in Berlin, and we decided to stay indoors and the only options were to either watch TV in German or...to watch German TV. It was impossible to access anything on the internet, let alone streaming a movie. Its hard to fathom why a decent internet connection is not possible in a hotel charging well over 90EUR/night!! Not again..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Big rooms, big beds, very polite helpful staff. Our request for a room at the rear of the hotel (for quietness) was noted. The area itself is a little soulless, because it is in a business district. It is however walkable to main tourist attractions. That is clearly not in any way a reflection on the hotel itself, but possibly worth noting if you are going on a romantic mini break. It was notably the only hotel of our trip where we had a bath, and the bath itself was a decent size. Everywhere was immaculately clean and very comfortable. Would use again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is clean, tidy & well appointed. Great value for money. Although not regarded to be in the 'right part of town' we found the location excellent as it was so close to the underground rail. We like walking and think that all the major locations in Berlin are close to this hotel but the closeness to the ug rail made visiting areas further out very easy. Kreuzeberg for evening dining and travel to the airport were so easy. The staff were friendly and helpful. WiFi in room and also PC computers in lobby (with an easy print solution offered) were excellent. We would return to this hotel and hope to and discover more of Berlin.

Room Tip: We had no problem with our room even with the construction adjacent. Some previous reviewers were af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel am Spittelmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel am Spittelmarkt

Address: Neue Grunstrasse 28, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#115 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel am Spittelmarkt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel am Spittelmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Am Spittelmarkt
Best Western Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel am Spittelmarkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.