We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Munch's Hus

Munch's Hus
Bulowstrasse 66, 10783 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #940 of 5,980 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $23 - $31
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
London, England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Four of us ate here on a Sunday evening and found it very welcome after a day sightseeing. It was not very busy and the waitress looked after us well. The ambience was good.
There were some interesting dishes with reindeer etc. Great fish dishes. Everything we ordered was fine and filling without being too much. We had 2 cocktails and some beers. The meal was about 120 Euros with tip for 2/3 starters, 4 main courses and 2 desserts plus drinks. I would be happy to go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Praha
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Extremely over-rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

What is everybody raving about here? First of all, the waitress rudely refused to bring us menu in English and kept ignoring us later on too. Fortunately her colleague was a lot nicer. We were not sure about the daily offer so we chose from the menu. We did not need to bother waiting longer and paying a lot more because the food was extremely boring, some fish overcooked (dry) and all was floating in creamy sauce that was almost making my stomach turn. Good luck if you decide going there after all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous fish.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We came here following a recommendation from a Norwegian exile in Berlin and weren't disappointed. We all ate fish which was imaginatively presented with plenty of delicious vegetable accompaniments. The salads were also good although be warned if they are described as big in the menu they are main course size. Our waitress was very attentive and helped us choose a nice wine to go with the fish (not the most expensive one). It's a little bit out of the way but given the quality of the cooking we couldn't understand why there were so few people there. It deserves to be better known. Our only complaint was their refusal to give tap water unless you need it to swallow a pill!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“nice ambiente, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I went here in February 2013 after having seen it was closeby and rated quite good. I had the Elk dish, which was delicious. The atmosphere in the restaurant is cozy and warm. It's probably somewhat upscale in price, but worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maisons-Alfort, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“How do you say smiling in Norwegian?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Downtempo, unusual flavors and a white fish (can't remember the name) to really die for. A bit more smiling service wouldn't have hurt, but I came there to eat, not admire, so f- it. Avoid the special aperitive liquor with berries in it, that's just too bitter.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munch's Hus also viewed

 

Been to Munch's Hus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munch's Hus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.