We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good alternative place with gigs in the basement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madame Claude Bar

Madame Claude Bar
Lubbener Strasse 19, 10997 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #199 of 999 things to do in Berlin
Attraction details
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A good alternative place with gigs in the basement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Madame Claude is a popular bar in Kreuzberg managed by a team of french men. It is pretty difficult to know that it's a bar from outside so make sure you note down the exact adress. In this venue, the furnitures are on the ceiling while the ones on the floor are set up upside down, which might mess up your brain if you are pretty blazed... The drinks are cheap and the bartenders are pretty cool. I also like the music there, which is mostly rock and indie. The bar is often packed so don't come to late if you wanna have a place to sit. There is also a small room in the basement (check the casual white door on the left when you go down the stairs) where they organize gigs almost every night. The quality is very unpredictable, but I've seen some really good stuffs there. You can also play table football, but beware, the locals are really good! Also, note that it is a pretty messy place, full of smoke and where people go to get really drunk, so don't go there for a romantic night!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

As other users have mentioned, there are pieces of furniture stuck upside down to the ceiling and it's very interesting/impressive. The décor was very unique and very me. I wish there was a bar like this near me. The drinks were cheap and the music was decent. The only thing I could really fault was the lack of seating space but we caught it on a night where a band was playing in the basement so perhaps it's not ordinarily so busy. This was definitely my favourite of all the bars we visited whilst in Berlin, and I would recommend it to anybody looking for something a little quirkier than your average bar.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Good alternative place where to spend a night with friends. The upside-down furniture is a remarkable idea :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cool, chilled and very Kreuzberg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We found this place by accident. Difficult to know it's a bar from the outside. The inside immediately impressed. Cosy artsy with some nice mellow tunes playing. They also showcase a number of acts. Brilliant cheap beers and nice staff to boot. As we say in Edin a barry wee joint. We will be making a return on our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Local f-chain bar with tons of character, local vibe = awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Loved this bar - its very small and cosy but you can't deny the decor is AWESOME. Everything is upside down (chairs/tables on the ceiling). There is limited seating but its a perfect place to start your evening with drinks and friends. This is an old brothel so when you walk in through the dresser to head downstairs keep that in mind when you inspect the layout of the place. Really good cocktails (try the Madame Claude cocktail - it was great, as well as the Moscow Mule). Great prices. I also recommend a restaurant down the street that also is popular among the locals in this neighborhood called Das Edelweiss - Gorlitzerstr. 1-3, 10977 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madame Claude Bar also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Madame Claude Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madame Claude Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.